We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn on Barons Creek
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
GEORGETOWN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just returned home after spending the night at the Inn on Barons Creek. AARP is honored there, but only for a "few" rooms already occupied. So we did not get the rate. The toilet bowl was dirty and streaked. Ceiling light in bathroom did not work. The shower curtain was torn and off the rod on one end. The sofa was very uncomfortable. We piled the cushions on top of each other to sit on it. The black out curtain in bedroom was full of holes allowing light in, but the sheets looked clean. We were told that no laundry bags are given anymore; no pen or pad; no hotel directory. The outside carpet needed to be vacuumed. A lot of AC unit noise throughout the night. The breakfast fruit was old, mushy, and bananas were brown. This would have been tolerable for $80 a night. However, the room was over $200 a night, and these accommodations were not worth $200 a night. There are lots of other choices in Fredericksburg besides Inn on Barons Creek and that's where we'll be in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for permission to check out your room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROLLIN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us while visiting Fredericksburg. We do hope that you enjoyed your visit in town wether it was to visit wineries or just stroll the Historic main street. I would like to apologize for the misinformation of a discounted rate. While we do offer discounted rates during the week we do not on the weekends. I would like to apologize for your room being anything other than perfect. I have personally inspected the room myself and while I know the toilet appeared dirty it was actually hard water stains that have been taken care of, as well as the bulb in the vent fan. Everything else has been addressed with the housekeeping department. I would like to thank you for pointing out our mistakes this helps us train and grow as a team so that we can better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    217
    90
    27
    27
See reviews for
174
319
11
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you are like me and not into the whole bed and breakfast thing....this is the place to stay. It's possibly the nicest place in the town and reasonably priced. We paid $119 per night and got a free apple pie and 2 tickets to the museum.
Check in was fast.... the room was spotless..... it was quiet. Heck...this whole town is quiet.
Morning breakfast was good...and FREE. We sat in the hot tub.... it was fine. Also...it's 1 block off main street. We parked the car and walked everywhere for 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STUNTS4FILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed it while you were here. I hope that you were able to do everything Fredericksburg has to offer. Maybe the next time you come visit us you can try out our wonderful Spa.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I wanted a new get away spot we found it! We checked in to the Inn on Barons Creek and we greeted with friendly staff and quick check-in, when we got to the room they had surprised us with champagne. The hotel and grounds were clean and well kept. It has a beautiful creek running through they have positioned chairs and benches through out to enjoy the views. The gift shop has a variety of local wines and snacks to choose from. We will be returning to enjoy the hospitality.

Room Tip: We had the king Jacuzzi suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and a peacful time. We can't wait until you return.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I are "frequent" (but not frequent enough) guests at your property in New Braunfels. There is no way we would even consider staying anywhere but the Inn on Baron's Creek. We have traveled throughout the US and I have been to every state except Wyoming. I mention this so that I will give credence to the praise I have for the wonderful folks on the front desk and the hospitality/housekeeping staff. I must especially single out Amy for service that is outstanding. Our first visit to Baron's Creek was to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and she made us feel like part of the family. Her professionalism and caring attitude has brought us back on several occasions and we have booked ahead for our anniversary again in September. In addition, my wife and I have brought family members from San Antonio and Houston to stay with us there and they too have fallen in love with the property. Of course we all know that the property is bricks and mortar, the true strength of the Inn is the wonderful folks you have working with and for the public. You should be commended for the great work they are doing in your name.

Room Tip: Choose any, you can't go wrong..the cottages are stupendous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to share such kind words and also for being a loyal guest. Amy truly is an amazing person, I am so happy to hear how she has taken care of you during your past and future stays.I also agree it takes the right people and I believe we have them here. I would also like to thank you for sharing your experience with your family and friends. We truly do look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The husband and I decided at the last minute to head to Fredericksburg for the weekend. Fortunately for us, the Inn had a room available because there's nowhere else I'd rather stay. The rooms are large with a sitting area that can be separated from the bedroom using pocket doors. Because the temperature on Saturday was a scorching 106 degrees, we made good use of the ceiling fan and refrigerator in the room, as well as the salt water pool. The staff was friendly, as always, and the hotel, while full, was very quiet. The complimentary breakfast was tasty. When we inquired about a late checkout, it was instantly approved. The location is great because you can easily walk to Main Street so you don't have to try to find parking downtown. My only concern is the lack of sidewalks along a small section of Washington Street, which has no bearing on the Inn itself, but can be difficult if you have mobility issues like I do.
I have stayed in other places in and around Fredericksburg, but the Inn on Barons Creek is, by far, my favorite.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjandcjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. I also want to thank you for being a loyal guest. We take great pride in doing everything possible to make our guests happy and are always excited to hear when we do. You will be happy to know that the city is actually planning on extending the sidewalks to main street, we are hoping this will be completed by the end of the year. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and have been satisfied with the service offered by staff and the amenities offered. The beautifully landscaped grounds are well maintained. The pool, though once was salt water, is clean and welcoming. The jacuzzi works wonders on the weary body after a day of shopping in Fredericksburg. The spacious suites with two queen beds and two TV's are very comfortable. I love the convenience of a small fridge and microwave. The bathroom is spacious, clean and well appointed. The full breakfast each morning is a delight and well maintained by the friendly kitchen staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontereyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing about your stay with us while visiting Fredericksburg. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay (and past stays) We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for wedding and had some friends in the nearby rooms. We were amazed that we could not here anything in the next room, the hall way, or the parking lot especially after staying in another hotel right after in another city where you could hear everything in the hallway and on the street 9 floors up.

Internet connection was not very good. Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txtraveler1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us while visiting our lovely city. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Fredericksburg.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.1 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Barons Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Barons Creek

Property: Inn on Barons Creek
Address: 308 S Washington St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#4 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Barons Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn on Barons Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Barons Creek Hotel Fredericksburg
Hotel On Barons Creek
On Barons Creek Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing