We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Farm Haus Bistro at Fredericksburg Herb Farm
Ranked #30 of 143 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Eating in a garden environment, with fresh fruits, vegetables and herbs, is unique these days. This fine restaurant is housed in a historic rock house, built in the late 1890s. Our menus are ever-changing based on seasonal inspiration - call to inquire about specials and current options. A nice wine selection, which includes local wines, compliments the cuisine. Enjoy a drink in The Bistro Bar - complete with unique fireplace and comfortable seating. At the Farm we also have Sunday Haus Cottages where you can stay and relax in a comfortable garden environment; Nature's Spa, a 5,000 square foot destination spa with multiple treatment rooms; and the Poet's Haus Gift Shop, offering garden and gift items as well as candles, lotions, soaps and much more that are formulated on-site! In addition to these things guests can enjoy our gardens where fresh ingredients are grown and used in our restaurant and much more is grown simply for your enjoyment!
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The steak was cooked to perfection and the ice berg wedge salad was great. But it was extremely expensive. Service was fine

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 426 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just dropped by as usual to visit the gift shop. I had not been here since all the renovations were completed. We didn't eat but had a couple drinks at bar and after visiting with bartnder and gift shop personel I was sold.
The drinks were great and the atmosphere so relaxing. I immediatley started planning when I can come to stay!

    • Service
Thank ladyexplorer036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Can't say enough about the great experience we had at the Farm Haus Bistro. Attention to detail; the food; the freshness; the atmosphere was great! Would highly recommend for those looking for night to remember.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CRAIG F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were looking forward to a relaxing and delicious Sunday brunch, but it was anything but that. Here is a list of some of the problems we encountered at the Herb Farm Haus: Poor service, no water served, spoiled coffee cream, only potatoes in my husband's omelet (Where was the meat?), forgot the avocadoes on top of my omelet. In addition the omelets looked like they were made with only one egg. For the price I expect cloth napkins and much better service and food! Of all the places we dined during our stay this was by far the most expensive and the worst tasting food! We will not eat there again and will never recommend it to friend or enemy.

3  Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shylo A, Manager at Farm Haus Bistro at Fredericksburg Herb Farm, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

We appreciate you choosing the Farm Haus Bistro and apologize that your experience was anything less than great. We take pride in our food and restaurant and strive for the best.

We do not serve water, unless it is requested, because we are under water restrictions and are doing everything we can to conserve. We discussed the issues of that day with the manager on duty and it seems that the coffee was too hot and was curdling the creamer. Management and staff worked to solve the issue as soon as they were notified. Sunday brunch service is typically served with cloth napkins, we regret that there was an issue with delivery of the cloth napkins for that particular week and apologize for the inconvenience.

We always want our guests to have the best experience possible and hope that if the service, food, etc., that they will speak with a manager about the issues immediately. It is difficult to ascertain exactly what the situation was if a manager is not notified, but we appreciate the feedback and will use it to improve our services. As you can see from the other reviews these issues are not common occurrences in our restaurant and we take your concerns very seriously. We hope that you will join us again, and give us another chance to provide an exceptional dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our evening at the Herb Farm. Our server was extremely polite and professional, and he really set the tone. Taylor, the executive chef, came out and visited with us and was so gracious and friendly. The lamb was delicious. This place was wonderful!

Thank lak63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farm Haus Bistro at Fredericksburg Herb Farm also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Farm Haus Bistro at Fredericksburg Herb Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing