We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only there were service of any kind, it could be so nice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fredericksburg Herb Farm - Sunday Haus Cottages
Ranked #12 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“If only there were service of any kind, it could be so nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

First the positives - cute cottages and swings on the pretty porch, fabulous breakfasts, nice garden shop (didn't try the spa.) However, I expect some kind of service when staying in a resort of this caliber and price range, especially since we were from out-of-state and needed some orientation of what to do in the area.

We arrived about 6:00 and couldn't even find an office. After wandering around the property for awhile, another guest told us the owners leave at 4:00 and to check the door of the restaurant and sure enough, an envelope was hanging down with info on where they put our room key. They said in the letter they would be at their other property in case we needed to phone them.

We never saw them during our four night stay. There was no one to tell us which attractions in the area they suggested we see, nothing about restaurants, no brochures anywhere.

One man was occasionally working where you walk into the restaurant and every time I asked him something he would say he'd only been working there three weeks and didn't know the answer to my question.

Exceptions were Tiffany, a friendly waitress who really tried to make us feel at home and answer our questions. Also, Mike the bartender was wonderful at making a connection with us.

Every item on the included breakfast menu was delicious - the artichoke/spinach omelet, Belgian waffle with ice cream, corned beef hash, eggs Benedict, etc. and the restaurant is very attractive and comfortable.

The cabin rooms were very nice and I'm sorry I can't give this place a recommendation. It is also about half a mile walk to reach Main St.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tapestries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    29
    7
    9
    3
See reviews for
18
104
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

the Herb Farm has 14 modern cottages in a neat, well kept courtyard with gravel walkways. The rooms are spacious with large bathrooms and walk in showers. There are comfy rockers on the front porches. The modern breakfast area has tables that look out on the garden areas and instill a cozy comfy feeling. The breakfasts are very good and service is great. The bistro is open for dinner thurs thru sat. The farm is conveniently located in a neighborhood in west town and a few blocks from the downtown shopping area. Price is reasonable at $159 during the week. Adults only and no pets.

Room Tip: rooms 3-6 offer shade in the pm from the Tx sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmiller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

There were so many issues. To start breakfast is included but upon check in on saturday we were informed that reservations for Sunday brunch were already over booked so we as guests would have to eat at 1 :00 in the afternoon. Finally a very nice bartender - mike told us that he would serve us at 10 am if we came to the dining room then. If you come here know that there is no leisurely breakfast. You are at the inn's mercy as to what time you can eat. Second there is no management person on site. When we had a question the only person we could find to help us was a spa attendant and the door to the spa stays locked 100 percent of the time. Guests have to bang on the door to be let in. Third don't expect your room to be cleaned. It won't and we asked the only person we could find on the grounds - the host at the restaurant. Fourth our bathroom fan did not work but there is no one to report this to. The place just has no staff working on site. At one point this morning we saw a frantic waitress running across the grounds asking guests if they had change for a $20 in order to make change for a guest. After the restaurant closes at 2 - there is no one working at the inn at all. The cabins are cute but the problems and lack of service certainly outweigh the charm. For $200 a night my husband and I expected a lot more. As he correctly said they are trying to run this place as cheaply as possible and it shows.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank shellyFortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shylo A, Manager at Fredericksburg Herb Farm - Sunday Haus Cottages, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We sincerely wish for all of our guests to completely enjoy a relaxing getaway – if anyone’s experience is less than that we hope that they will bring the issue to our attention while they are still on property so that we can have the chance to correct it immediately.

Sunday Brunch service does begin at 10 AM on Sunday mornings. A complimentary brunch is provided to all Cottage guests, and our staff works very hard to ensure that those guests are accommodated, with or without previous reservations, in a timely manner. We are fully staffed with both servers and managers on the weekends, but the restaurant is very busy on weekends, especially Sunday.

We apologize if you were under the impression that we have staff on property 24/hours a day. Contact numbers for our sister property, the Hangar Hotel, are provided in the cottages for convenience. The door to the Nature’s Spa is locked in order to preserve the relaxing atmosphere of the spa environment, and we have found that our clients enjoy the privacy afforded by a locked door. If guests have previously scheduled spa appointments they are informed of the locked door upon booking and are notified that someone will answer the door if knocked upon. Either the Spa Manager or the esthetician are available at all times to open the door and allow clients inside. The Spa is closed on Sunday and Monday.

Our staff is on property every day from 9 AM – 5 PM to supply coffee, toiletries, housekeeping, etc. Often the owners or managers are on property late, as was the case on Sunday afternoon. We apologize that you felt your room was not cleaned in a timely manner. Most of our guest sleep in a little longer in the mornings, take advantage of relaxing spa treatments and then retire back to their cottages- so they appreciate not having that unscheduled “housekeeping” knock on their door, therefore, housekeeping is done between 11 AM and 2 PM.

We appreciate you bringing the bathroom fan to our attention and wish that you would have notified any of the numerous employees you spoke with during your stay. Our Facilities manager works very hard to keep our grounds and cottages in tip top shape and was the gentleman you saw in the gardens. Due to a large number of reservations and guests our server did have to come out and notify him that they needed more change.

The newly revamped Fredericksburg Herb Farm was designed as a place for our guests to come and escape the hassles of everyday life, relax and only be disturbed as much as they’d like. We regret any misconceptions concerning our services and hope that you’ll reconsider us on your next trip to town. We appreciate your input and will use it to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Love, love, love this place. Love the attention to detail. Truly a labor of love. The people there were delightful and enjoyed the accommodations. Great place. Looking forward to next visit. The herb farm is charming. Loved the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Cute little place and usually you can chalk up a couple problems to just a bad day but sadly in this case there’s hardly room to list all the problems, but I’ll start with the big ones. First, when staying multiple nights you’d expect that after the 1st night, you would want the room straightened/cleaned while you’re out during the day. You’re provided instructions to “place a door hangar ONLY if you don’t want your room cleaned”. We therefore did not use the hangar and yet the room was not cleaned. We notified the front desk in early afternoon of this, they said they’d take care of it, yet we came back later and still it was never cleaned. Next the Spa is always locked. We managed to get in to confirm appointments where we were told to come 30 min early, yet when we did, we could not get in. There's a sign that says "knock to gain access" yet we did and no one ever came. We had to call again over to the front desk and finally they found someone with a key to let us in. Also, the shower in the bathroom is open concept; no door or threshold. This can be ok if designed properly but here it allowed a large amount of water out onto the bathroom floor. We had to use extra towels to mop up and put bath mat out to drip dry, which was more of a pain since they never came to clean. The shower floor is a bumpy stone floor that’s uncomfortable on the feet and there is a gap between floor and shower wall that’s just asking for a mold problem. When we pointed out the cleaning issue they did reduce room rate slightly but I’m sorry at the rate they’re charging, there’s no excuse for having this many issues. We will not likely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shylo A, Manager at Fredericksburg Herb Farm - Sunday Haus Cottages, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
We appreciate you bringing any issues you had to our attention and are sincerely sorry that you did not completely enjoy your stay. We always appreciate the opportunity to improve in any way and all of your concerns have been brought to the attention of the general manager and are being reviewed.

We apologize that your room was not cleaned in a timely manner. The housekeeping staff was mistaken and the issues have been addressed. Our cottages have been designed to fit into the overall spa and farm theme, as well as provide a relaxing retreat for all of our guests. The stones in the showers are Reflexology stones designed to provide a spa atmosphere to the bathrooms. We have since done a thorough check of the cottage you stayed in to inspect the maintenance concerns you brought to our attention.

The door to the Nature’s Spa is occasionally locked to preserve the relaxing atmosphere of the spa environment. We apologize that you could not gain access to the Spa when you arrived. We are currently working to find another option to preserve the atmosphere.

Our client experience is very important to us and we apologize that your stay was anything less than great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Very cute individual cottages with good bed in attractive setting. A bit off putting upon arrival to be told no bar,restaurant closed for dinner, get ice bucket filled by 5 PM or get no ice. Apparently the property is untended after 5PM? One reason we chose this place was so that we wouldn't have to go out again to eat after a long drive. The man who took my reservation bragged on the restaurant. He said nothing about it only being open weekend evenings. Bath sink was uncomfortably high. Shower floor of river rocks looks great but is hard on the feet. No TV guide so it was Russian roulette to find your channel. No comfortable chairs for visiting or tv watching inside.How easy is this to fix? Come on people. Lovely outdoor seating, though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Freshisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Alabama
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hubby and I just spent a weekend at this charming B & B off the Main Street in Fredericksburg. Approximately four blocks off Main Street this resort is located in a residential area. The Sunday Haus Cottages were just so cute and comfy. Simple, clean and cozy. The cottage had a spacious bedroom and bath with walk in shower. Spacious vanity. Note that there is limited hanging clothes space. Bed was very comfortable. Mini fridge and microwave were a plus.

The gardens/ landscaping are well done and probably are just beautiful in warmer months. On site gift shop was ok but nothing special compared to the shopping on Main Street. We did not take advantage of the Spa, but suspect it would be quite enjoyable.

The big plus to us was the food at the restaurant. A very enjoyable dinner, Sunday brunch and Monday morning breakfast! Food was well prepared and presented. Portions were substantial....I did a lot of indulging because everything tasted so good. The breakfast Cinnamon Roll appetizer should not be missed! Large enough for. 2 people to share. Freshly baked and oozing with sugary goodness. The omelet with vegetables and goat cheese was killer. At dinner we found the pork chop to be at least the 10 ounces described on the menu. The salmon was cooked perfectly. The server recommended the mac and cheese side, which was a solid mass of mac and cheese in bread crumbs and deep fat fried. I did not find it to be especially flavorful and was too crisp/hard to enjoy...select another side.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage with a front porch swing! We enjoyed cottage number 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsWithJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#6 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#7 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredericksburg Herb Farm - Sunday Haus Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredericksburg Herb Farm - Sunday Haus Cottages

Property: Fredericksburg Herb Farm - Sunday Haus Cottages
Address: 405 Whitney, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunday house cottages are unique to this area. German settlers would build these small “City Houses” to use on weekends when they came to town to buy provisions for the week and to also attend Sunday Church services. The Sunday Haus Cottages at The Fredericksburg Herb Farm are patterned after three of the most popular historical designs. Each cottage is similar in ways, yet different in others. The cottages provide all the comforts of home including a king bed, bathroom with shower, granite vanity with vessel sink, comfortable seating, flat screen HD video, high speed internet, ceiling fans and rockers on a porch bordered by white jasmine blossoms. Crushed granite, winding paths lead from the cottages to the Spa, Restaurant, Gardens and Retail Shop. An arbor with two, wide cedar swings provide a relaxing interlude for reflections of times gone by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fredericksburg Herb Farm - Sunday Haus Cottages Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing