We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Find in Fredericksburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cranky Frank's BBQ

Cranky Frank's BBQ
Ranked #13 of 132 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Find in Fredericksburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had tried to go to AlamoSprings Cafe lunch for the hamburgers but it was convoulted--one road was gone (washed out?) and we had to take the long way! Once there, it was one day it was closed--Tuesday. Yes, we should have called ahead but we did get to see the bat tunnel.

Anyhow, we decided on BBQ and wound up at Cranky Frank's and it was great! A counterman recommended the marbled brisket sandwich and I loved it. I ordered 2 sides. The pinto beans were tasty but not the potato salad. Try something else, maybe the green beans.

Anyhow, the 3 of us had an enjoyable, reasonably priced Texas barbecue lunch. The place appeared to be mainly full of local people.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MLC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    64
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sonoma county
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very good lean brisket. Husband had ribs. He especially likes that they are not dripping in sauce. Super nice folks taking our orders.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rottenreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great brisket and ribs. Sides were good as well. The downside is they are only open a short time 11 to 3 and 11 to 2 on Sunday. Prices are a little high and you will have to wait in line but it is good food. The place is a little congested so you need patience when ordering and again when getting to the sauce and sides. I would still highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real great, Texas BBQ experience, not commercialized!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

So much better than some of the other, more well-known places like the one in Llano! Long lines sometimes, but they move fast, fast great service, and most important GREAT BBQ. Eat there or take out, all the fixin's, ice tea, beer, you would expect. Wonderful daily specials, get there early though before they sell out! A local favorite for sure!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
649 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“None better for barbecue in our experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

On the wine trail in Hill Country we thought we'd chow down on some REAL BBQ in Freddyburg.
This is a no frills BBQ joint with excellent standards on all parts of the experience.
Quality.
we had the trinity of brisket, ribs & sausage with sides of cole slaw & potato salad.
Not had better in my limited experience in TX.
recommended

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranky Frank's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Cranky Frank's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing