We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Good Price”
Review of Cranky Frank's BBQ

Cranky Frank's BBQ
Ranked #14 of 137 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Price”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just a short drive south of main street. It doesnt look like much, but who cares when the BBQ is this good, and plenty of it for a good price. Perfect spot to sit outside at the picnic tables and enjoy a cold beer with some great ribs. Luckily we got there a few minutes before the lunch rush. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amazoncruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    68
    19
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good, Average Texas BBQ”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went to Cranky Frank's BBQ because it was listed on the 2013 Texas Monthly Top 50 BBQ Joints list. The brisket was good, but I consider average Texas BBQ. The sides (potato salad and cole slaw) were fantastic and they give you are the sides that you can eat. One negative, they charge you for a water cup. As BBQ enthusiasts, we really wanted to love this place, but it did not happen.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kamybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fburg's best BBQ”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a really tiny place with a really big taste. But, if you can't eat in, you can take it home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gridley
Level Contributor
245 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“What a fantastic meal in a crazy looking place!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had the privilege of eating here while visiting our kids. I was a little leery from the outside but once inside the aromas and tastes were absolutely awesome! We ordered the brisket sandwiches and the pinto beans and what a delightful meal. Tried to go back a second time and the sign said sorry sold out!
we were so disappointed and tis definitely on the list of must do's on our return next spring.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rnprofessr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good BBQ sandwiches.”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have stopped here several times for BBQ sandwiches when we travel through the hill country on our way to Colorado. The sandwiches and beans are good. They are easy to eat on the road.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasPuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranky Frank's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Cranky Frank's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing