We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Find!”
Review of Cotton Gin Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cotton Gin Village
Ranked #7 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Cotton Gin Village will not disappoint! We had such a terrific time in this very quaint, private and peaceful setting. In addition to the serene environment, the Grill is not to be missed. The service and food are above and beyond expectations. We will be back in the fall when it's a little cooler.

Room Tip: All the cabins are private and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 144 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2011

Food is great, management is awful. She is completely discriminating and unprofessional. Will only come back when they get a new manager.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyluckTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The restaurant was simply beautiful and good food. Loved breakfast and cabin. Simply lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilgbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

This wonderful cabin is rustic but not old, comfy furniture, luxury towels and bedding, fireplace, very good AC and a porch to sit at and enjoy your coffee or cup of tea.

There was not one bad thing about this cabin and you MUST eat at the dinner at the grill while your here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafterGRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We came to Fredericksburg for the wineries, shopping, and history. One of the members of our group has health issues, and I wanted to find lodging that would be a great place to hang out in case she did not feel like getting out. An ordinary, boring hotel room that looks like any other just would not do, and sometimes in B&B's you just don't feel like you have much privacy, so the little log cabin village looked promising.

The Cotton Gin Village was an excellent choice. All four of us really enjoyed our stay there. We stayed in the Llano and Pecos cabins, and they were both nicely decorated with antiques and reproduction period pieces, both large and small. The breakfast of pastries (yes, as others have stated, bring a ziplock bag with you to keep them fresh!) and granola, with coffee, juice, and milk was more than enough to get an excellent start in the morning.

After sight seeing, the front porches were the perfect place to hang out and enjoy a glass of wine. The grounds are beautifully designed and manicured, with a fountain/water feature in the center of the complex, with more antique and vintage farming items scattered about and incorporated into the scenery.

Regarding the downsides: Like others have stated, the bed is high (a step stool is in the room) and the tub is difficult to step out of (sit on the side and swing your legs over and you'll be fine). We are in our 50's and 60's and had no problem dealing with any of this, but if you are disabled it might be a problem for you. Also, someone mentioned a lack of hangers for hanging clothes. I don't know about the other cabins, but our cabin (Pecos) did have a wardrobe in the bedroom with hangers. And, yes, it is right next to the highway. Our room had one of those white noise machines which would help if the highway noise bothers you, but we never used it. I guess after long days of museums, shopping, wineries, and great dinners with live music, we just didn't need it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and when we return to F'burg, we will definitely try to get reservations at the Cotton Gin Village.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CnJ-TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

My wife and I received a free weekend at the Cotton Gin as a wedding present and decided to use it for a nice Valentine's weekend getaway. The location is a little out of the way which was fine for what we were looking for, but if you want to be in the middle of things, you should look elsewhere.

The cabin was nice. We really enjoyed the wood burning fire place which is only available during the winter months. The bed and bathroom were pretty much your typical hotel type amenities. Breakfast was pastries that were brought to the cabin the day before. Not my favorite, but they were good enough.

Overall we had a good experience, however, $200 a night is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanL04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

For $200/night, I did not sleep because the mattress was so old it caved in the middle, and the two flat pillows were also uncomfortable. The decor is old and the hvac system was difficult to regulate. The cabin should be completely updated with a comfortable mattress and pillows at the very least. The restaurant on site was good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runmama73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
2.6 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
924 reviews
6.5 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#4 of 82 in Fredericksburg
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 82 in Fredericksburg
152 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
442 reviews
7.9 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#10 of 82 in Fredericksburg
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Gin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Gin Village

Address: 2805 N State Highway 16, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More Than a Fredericksburg TX Bed and Breakfast. The moment you step inside the ivy-covered walls of the Cotton Gin Village in historic Fredericksburg Texas, you’ll be transported to another world. Koi ponds with waterfalls. Lush landscaping. Romantically outfitted rustic cabins. And unparalleled Texas Hill Country dining in the highly acclaimed Cabernet Grill-Texas Wine Country Restaurant. It will be an experience you won’t soon forget. Come on in and make yourself at home at one of Fredericksburg's most acclaimed B&Bs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cotton Gin Village Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing