We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice time”
Review of Otto's

Otto's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, German
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
MA
Level Contributor
261 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Very nice time”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had just arrived in Fredericksburg and were looking for a German restaurant. We saw that this was highly rated on Trip Advisor, and gave it a try. We enjoyed the attentive service, the atmosphere was pleasant, but the food was what made it exceptional. I would call it German with a twist of gourmet. Give it a try :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mammak61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    132
    43
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
229 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Oh, I wish you would move to Austin!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

What an absolutely wonderful restaurant. The building was actually decorated by the owners and the simple background has an easy ambience. Don't let the title of "German" throw you off. The menu is very cosmopolitan and totally gourmet. We started w/ the charcuterie plate to share and it was so tasty. We shared the duck schnitzel w/foie gras and spatzle, finishing w/the cambozola kasekuchen -which is cheesecake w/carmel finish. Desserts are also made on sight. It was SOOOO Good!
I just wish they'd uproot and move to Austin-of course the lines would be out the door. And be aware they don't take reservations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texastravelers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This restaurant used to be a bookstore, so the chef/owner told us. It is nicely decorated and looks like it's a residential house. A bit pricey, but we had cobia (white fish), duck and German meatballs and they were all delicious! Also had cocktail and it was different than American cocktail. Overall, a nice German dinner in a German town!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deutscheicurean - German inspired gastro fare”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Delicious and varied options. Great local/German-inspired beverages. Easy, proficient service. You would do well to choose this place over the Main Street pub fare.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kylezone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
414 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Haute German food”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This small chef-run restaurant is only 8 months old and doesn't take reservations. But we were lucky as it was Oscar night and we got a table right away. The service was big-city professional and the food was really fresh and flavorful. I had the Schnitzl a la Holstein and my husband had the house-made knockwurst. In a town full of German restaurants, this is a different take on the food and well worth trying to get a table. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We hope to go another night before we have to leave Hill Country.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto's also viewed

 

Been to Otto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing