We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrumptious !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabernet Grill Texas Wine Country Restaurant

Cabernet Grill Texas Wine Country Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Southwestern, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Scrumptious !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated my husband's 50th birthday there ! It was fabulous ! Amazing food and service ! Great atmosphere ! We will definitely be going back !

Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,133
    250
    78
    43
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lives up to the TripAdvisor hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I went here two weeks ago based on the the reviews on TripAdvisor. It is not the most romantic place to eat but the food was REALLY good. My lobster topped chicken fried sirloin with green chile gravy was very nice. My wife loved the two pork salad and we both enjoyed the Jack Daniels chocolate ice cream served with the fried pecan pie.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TDPatterson93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing food, in an unexpected setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Visited this restaurant on New Year's Eve, and had such a fabulous meal! We were 2 couples enjoying the town, and chose to make reservations here. We all had a variety of food dishes, from fish to steaks, and dessert. Each dish was prepared with a European flair, and tasted amazing! Presentation and atmosphere were super!

The dessert offerings were unique and delicious as well. This is a must for anyone wishing to have a special treat while visiting Fredericksburg. We will definitely return, and even consider staying at the Bed & Breakfast which is at this location.

Super choice!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nab800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
468 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Great food . . . service is LACKING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Let me begin by saying that everything we had at the Cabernet Grill was delicious. The goat cheese appetizer(s) were fantastic . . . we had a large party of (7), so we ordered (3) of them. The salads were fresh without too much dressing and the NYE special of tenderloin tail and stuffed lobster tail were perfect. Our desserts were also spot on with most of the table ordering the German chocolate bread pudding, and a couple of smashed apple pies. So, as you can see, we ordered quite a bit of food and were happy with this part. Here was the "fail" for this restaurant, we made our reservations (4) weeks in advance and called to confirm the day before. The day of we received a call from the restaurant stating that "they do not seat incomplete parties and would not hold the table for more than 10 minutes," . . . ok, Happy New Years to you too! We arrived on time and were seated upstairs and the RACE was on! Karina was our waitress and her main concern was HURRYING and turning our table. We were rushed and there was a lot of attitude when it came to filling our water glasses. One of the desserts was not delivered and instead of her saying that she would fix the problem, her response to my husband was "REALLY?" She came by later and dropped the check . . . no coffee, no offer, no class. I took the time to write a review at the restaurant and part of our party caught the manager (whom I'm sure is BEST friends with Karina) having a good laugh over our less than stellar experience. My opinion is that the restaurant was trying to stay on course for NYE, but there are better ways than to push your guests into choking down their food and pushing them out the door. Shame on them!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Hill Country Dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place, especially for a small hill country town, is exquisite. The appetizers through the dessert menu has something for everyone.
There were 4 of us - we ate the Texas mixed grill which consisted of beef tenderloin, quail, and pork loin - it was absolutely delicious. The most interesting meal one of us had was the chicken fried steak topped with a lobster cream sauce - this also was surprisingly delicious.
This place is great for special occasions and dining with a group for fun.
Be sure to make reservations!
The only downside of the place for us as drinkers, is that there is no bar to grab a cocktail or wine while you wait for your table. If your reservation is 8 PM then arrive at 745 or so, otherwise you will be waiting impatiently if you enjoy a drink every now and then.
That is not a deal breaker for this place! It is fantastic and I highly recommend it!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dsingleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabernet Grill Texas Wine Country Restaurant also viewed

Fredericksburg, TX
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Cabernet Grill Texas Wine Country Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing