We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disposable glassware at these prices?”

Der Lindenbaum Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 138 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
VENUS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disposable glassware at these prices?”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The food was fairly good, but I can't believe they cannot afford glassware or a dishwasher at these prices! Plates were plastic, but even worse, I don't like drinking my beer from a plastic disposable cup in a nice restaurant! My first beer arrived halfway through my meal, and then it was about 35 - 40% foam.

Just "so-so." If I went again, I would make another choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    213
    103
    64
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Giddings, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It was just okay !”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We ate here for lunch on a Friday, arrived at 11:30 am right when they opened. Was very well clean, nice cozy and food didnt take long. However, the menu we read online they were not using . The waiter said that is the non busy menu ...? Never heard of that before. Internet didnt tell u that either. So, we ordered the normal breaded veal which came with sweet potato salad and red cabbage. The veal was the only thing that I really ate. My Hubby at the veal and potatoes. Ur drink is servered in plastic cup. And when I asked the waiter if they had gravy or ketcup he simply said No. That was it. So, not very freindly and I wouldn't go back here again. I guess because I lived in Vilseck, Germany for 2 yrs I was hoping for more..!! Was just okay, could have had a better lunch for less money .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good German”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very good and not a long wait for food. Get there when they open or you might not get in. (May have to wait a while if they are running late).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great German food”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We loved the hot German potato salad and sauerkraut. My husband had a wonderful thick pork chop, and I enjoyed the sausage. The sides made the meal, though. We also had great desserts, and the coffee was cinnamon flavored and wonderful!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 128Georgiana128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Delicious German cuisine but not for a light lunch”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

In order to stay on schedule, we had lunch here. There was no luncheon menu, so we ended up with full meals that were a bit much for the midday. The food is wonderful. I had the Jager Schnitzel and my husband had the bratwurst. The hot German potato salad is delicious! The restaurant is on Main Street just down from the Admiral Nimitz Museum. Don't miss this wonderful restaurant, but save it for your evening meal or share an entrée. Be aware -- they don't accept Visa or MasterCard or bank debit cards, so be sure to bring cash or your checkbook or Discover Card.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ARretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Der Lindenbaum Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Der Lindenbaum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing