We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Friendly”

Auslander Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 142 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: American, German, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: German Style Lodge featuring schnitzel, wursts, spätzle, sauerkraut, strudel and more. Also top-quality steaks, fresh salads, and delicious sandwiches. Texas-style Biergarten with over 80 different beers, live music, and pet-friendly.
Texas, the Lone Star State
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Fun and Friendly”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I keep returning to the Auslander because it's a fun place to eat. I can't say that the food is fantastic, or that it compares favorably to real German food (i.e., meals I've eaten in Germany).

Still, there are some very good dishes on the menu. I recently tried their schnitzel sandwich - it was surprisingly delicious and flavorful.

But the real draws to the Auslander are the friendly waitresses, homey décor, and excellent downtown location. If you're shopping in Fredericksburg, you won't regret stopping here.

(On a side note, I'm not a beer drinker, but my friends say the beers here are great.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    494
    295
    109
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cibolo, United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average food, great beer selection and live music”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The food was average German food, nothing to rave about. The beer selection, however, is outstanding! They have many drafts as well as bottled beers. The live music on Saturday night was great! We'll be back but not to eat a main course.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaunty I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayce, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food--pricey”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you want authentic German food in Fredericksburg, TX, this place delivers. Plan to have your wallet full of money as the prices are high. We tried several dishes, and were extremely pleased with the quality and authenticity of the food. They do a good job, but it is expensive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food is so so”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Auslander is located right on Main Street in the middle of the shopping area. We were seated quickly as we walked in for lunch. The inside was decorated country German.

I had Opa's sausage plate with sauerkraut and spatzle. My wife had the cabbage rolls. The sausage and kraut were ok, but I didn't like the spatzle. It was extremely dry. i've had some very good spatzle, but this was the worst. My wife's two cabbage rolls were ok, but they didn't have much seasoning. Her meal came with red cabbage and German potato salad. The red cabbage was great, but the German potato salad wasn't very good. The service was very good.

If and when we return to Fredericksburg, we probably won't be eating here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The atmosphere was good, German bier was refreshing, food was delicious. Service was acceptable but could have been a bit better.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AvidTraveler507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auslander Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Auslander Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing