We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great food, but a nice beer garden”

Auslander Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 142 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: American, German, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: German Style Lodge featuring schnitzel, wursts, spätzle, sauerkraut, strudel and more. Also top-quality steaks, fresh salads, and delicious sandwiches. Texas-style Biergarten with over 80 different beers, live music, and pet-friendly.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not great food, but a nice beer garden”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I would prefer to give it a 2.5-- the decor was fun-- animals heads and coo coo clocks, and the beer garden was great. The food in the restaurant, however, was really overcooked and not nice quality. Skip dessert-- you can do better at the pastry shops. My apple strudel was soggy as if it has been frozen for a long time and thawed for me.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    494
    295
    109
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good German fare”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Are you in the mood for some good, heavy, stick to your ribs sausages? Auslander is for you. Neither my wife nor I eat this sort of thing on a regular basis, but if such is your interest, it's probably the best German restaurant in Fredericksburg. Potato salad is really excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkins, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good German food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Would highly suggest you don't order the Ruben roll appetizer, order two instead, they're delicious. Opa's sausage and the Käsewurst were very tasty. The"Old World" Potato Soup and some sort of cabbage soup was good as well. Unfortunately we were too full for dessert so we didn't have any. Jerod our server was very attentive and polite. He also had recommendations of where to get dessert at a later time as we were full.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry_Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Ga.
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice taste of the old country”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ate lunch here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Had the local sausage sandwich with German potato salad. Yum. Top off with a frosty beer. Does it get any better?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rivrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A taste of Germany”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Both the spaten and oktoberfest drafts were very thirst quenching. They were two of the many beverage specials they had during their happy hour (until 7 p.m.). The goulash was thick, tasty and filling. We had the opa's sausage sandwich on marble bread oozing with cheese, with a side order of hot potato salad (very good), and a delicious schnitzel wiener with potato pancakes and red cabbage, accompanied by a so-so dipping sauce. Great atmosphere, even if we were only a few diners in a very large nicely decorated room with a collection of cuckoo clocks and stuffed elk and deer heads. Service was attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auslander Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Auslander Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing