We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice taste of the old country” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auslander Restaurant

Auslander Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 132 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: American, German, Bar, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: German Style Lodge featuring schnitzel, wursts, spätzle, sauerkraut, strudel and more. Also top-quality steaks, fresh salads, and delicious sandwiches. Texas-style Biergarten with over 80 different beers, live music, and pet-friendly.
Newnan, Ga.
Level Contributor
227 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice taste of the old country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ate lunch here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Had the local sausage sandwich with German potato salad. Yum. Top off with a frosty beer. Does it get any better?

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rivrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    461
    273
    97
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
526 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A taste of Germany”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Both the spaten and oktoberfest drafts were very thirst quenching. They were two of the many beverage specials they had during their happy hour (until 7 p.m.). The goulash was thick, tasty and filling. We had the opa's sausage sandwich on marble bread oozing with cheese, with a side order of hot potato salad (very good), and a delicious schnitzel wiener with potato pancakes and red cabbage, accompanied by a so-so dipping sauce. Great atmosphere, even if we were only a few diners in a very large nicely decorated room with a collection of cuckoo clocks and stuffed elk and deer heads. Service was attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Level Contributor
357 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A little slice of Germany in the Texas Hill Country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I love German food and any time I have the opportunity I visit Fredricksburg, TX. On this occasion, we chose the Auslander Restaurant and Beer Garten. The jagerschitzel was excellent; almost as good as being in the old country. I was not disappointed. I might also mention that the choice of beverages is lengthy. No need to go thirsty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis10_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dinner for large group of >30”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I will not go back to this restaurant. We know that all of the restaurants in the area are usually busy, so our group tried to make reservations. Unfortunately this restaurant does not do that. We told them the number in our party and what time we would be there, what time we would leave (before the evening entertainment), and there was no preparation that we could tell for our size group. We were seated in different parts of the restaurant, inside and outside (basically in all three parts of the restaurant). Although the food was pretty good, it was not anything special, and how our large group was separated at different tables in different sections really changed the experience we had had in Fredricksburg up to that point. To that point, we had felt as though we were part of a large family, and building a true relationship with people some of us had just met. For a business trip this was pretty awesome. This inflexibility about the seating really did spoil the experience. Sponsors and clients were separated, friends were separated etc etc. Not worth the aggravation. We will cater our next event if we can't make a reservation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffersJeffers, Owner at Auslander Restaurant, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
While we certainly apologize that you did not enjoy your experience, I must address a few issues.

The person in charge of your group was fully aware of the situation prior to your arrival. We accommodated this same group last year, in the same manner. We do not accept reservations for large groups on Saturdays. Your group, as well as group leadership knew and understood this. We are generally on a 30-45 min wait on Saturdays in the Spring, and simply cannot hold a large section of the restaurant open for large groups on these types of days. Therefore we informed your group leadership that we could seat your party piecemeal as tables became available (just like the previous year), and they were completely satisfied with this arrangement.

We accommodated your group quite quickly for a Spring Saturday (and a party of 40), and the group leader passed along his thanks and compliments to us on a job well done and on great food and service. Everyone I spoke to from your group felt the same.

Perhaps your complaints should be directed to your group's leadership, instead of our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome German Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had the traditional Bratwurst and Loin Shank daily special. The mashed potatoes were very good, the sauerkraut was very tasty, potato pancakes with applesauce was also very delicious.
The portions were large. Prices range from $10 and up.

Service was good, not outstanding.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shining_Star73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auslander Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Auslander Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing