We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute, good food!”

Friedhelms Bavarian Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 137 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Very cute, good food!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by one of the merchants on Main Street and it didn't disappoint. I'm not a German food connoisseur, but I did enjoy the Jager Schnitzel.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    115
    79
    37
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsville, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best!!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The best calf liver plate I have ever tasted. Waitress was very helpful with the menu. Very tasteful food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft worth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mostly Good”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to dinner here on a weekend trip to the area, Service was very good, My hubby got a smothered steak (forget the name) Steak was cooked to perfection but the mushroom sauce was a little salty for our taste..I ordered the jägerschnitzel and it was very good. The saurkraut was very good as well but my potatoes were too salty.. They were not inedible salty but definately oversalted..also my husband ordered the spaetzle and it looked like just spaghetti noodles buttered up?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaki43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Choice Among Local Options”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I have eaten here many times throughout the years. The quality remains consistent. The paprika schnitzel is excellent as is the cabbage soup. The atmosphere is nice and relaxing. However some improvements in food preparation could be made. The spatzle was either overcooked or instant - much like ramen noodles. Much of the lettuce in the salad should have been discarded during preparation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccobb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Level Contributor
188 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Bavaria in the Texas Hill Country”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Good authentic German food in a large dining hall atmosphere. The staff is in costume and food is serve with authentic side dishes. We have dined here many times at both lunch and dinner. It is worth the trip if you are near.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friedhelms Bavarian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Friedhelms Bavarian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing