We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing day with George!”

George's 290 Wine Tours
Ranked #5 of 26 Tours in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With more than 15 years of experience and relationships in the Texas Hill Country wine tour industry and a lifetime in Fredericksburg, George is able to provide an upscale wine tour experience second to none. Cruise the 290 Wine Trail in the comfort, luxury and safety of a stretch limousine. Have lunch in the beautiful setting of a Hill Country vineyard provided by Fredericksburg's famous Peach Tree Restaraunt. Be taken care of by an experienced and knowledgeable guide. Let George make your visit to the Hill Country unforgettable!
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An amazing day with George!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a GREAT time visiting the Fredericksburg wineries with George! As a native of Fredericksburg, he was very knowledgeable about the area and the wineries. Everyone knows George, so we got such special treatment...and a delicious lunch from the Peach Tree restaurant. George was very flexible, which allowed us to develop an itinerary that met our specific interests. It was a perfect day!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mdl10529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you don't book George, your missing out on a great experience.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

George is so very knowledgeable. If you are looking for somone to take you to wineries that can give you background and history that inriches the experiance, 290 wine tours should be your choice. Other tours were looking at us wishing they were in our tour. George walks you in to each winery and introduces you to winery staff , his relationships in the industry and knowledge of Fredericksburg, to which he is native, makes the experiance A+++.



Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikeseiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“We loved George's - made an awesome anniversary!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Ok, I was skeptical about a wine tour in Fredericksburg, but my husband did some research and the wineries recommended George. I was thrilled by the awesomely huge and decked-out suv limo - fun! My husband and I did a half day tour with others we didn't know - another couple and a small group of ladies. We all enjoyed it and made friends. George is laid back but the service level of the tour was fantastic. He is local and knows all the back stories on the wine makers, their histories, etc. I love the stories behind the wine. He also had great dinner recommendations as well. I cannot recommend this wine tour enough. Before we left Fredericksburg we were already planning to come back for a full day George's tour with a group of friends.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best day ever!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We got lucky when we choose George for our wine tour. He is a fredricksburg native and very knowledgable about the area. We provided lunch from The Peach Tree and took us to 4 wineries. Each winery was different and unique. George also gave us great restaurant recommendations. He was friendly and professional. We will definitely be back!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

George provided the greatest wine tasting experience for my bachelorette weekend! He picked us up from lunch and asked what we were up for. I had one request, and then we let George take the reigns on the other two wineries. There are so many options, we wouldn't have known how to decide, we just wanted to be able to enjoy music in the sun. He did a wonderful job picking out where would be best for us. Plus, he handled a bachelorette party of 9 perfectly, we knew it was something many people might not want to put up with. We had SO much fun on our wine tasting afternoon, thanks to George!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's 290 Wine Tours also viewed

 

Been to George's 290 Wine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing