We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hanger Hotel Diner”
Review of Hangar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hangar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hanger Hotel Diner”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Diner staff was preoccupied with visiting with one particular table. After sitting 35-minutes after ordering we left. People that came in after we did were served. Wait staff made no attempt to keep us informed or apologize for the long delay. Felt like it was a total lack of concern and focus on customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shylo A, Manager at Hangar Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We appreciate you choosing the Airport Diner and apologize that your experience was not excellent. We take pride in our food and service and strive to satisfy in all areas.

To insure the best experience possible, we hope that our guests would speak with a manager about any issue immediately. As you can see from the other reviews these issues are not common occurrences in our restaurant and we hope that you will join us again, and give us another chance to provide an exceptional dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    89
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
217
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Such a great escape from the chain hotels! This personal, clean, adult oriented hotel was a step back in time for my father, a WW II Navy vet. The Museum of the Pacific was an incredible experience and staying at the hotel was like staying at a private club with its beautiful diner with great service and food, the Officer's Club where the bartender runs the place like it is her living room and the service was so fun we ordered a pizza delivered there one night and played chess in front of the fireplace. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed and have wonderfully comfortable chairs for reading. Coffee is available all day, and a breakfast of scones and fruit awaited guests if you were hungry before the diner opened -- the warm chocolate chip cookies were such a treat. This hotel is quiet and we so enjoyed a place that catered to adults.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was a great, fun, and entertaining place. As many times as I have visited fredericksburg I never knew of this place. The piano bar was excellent. Stayed way too long, enjoyed way too much, and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

When I booked this hotel I thought it would be fun and different. My father-in-law was an aviator in WW11 so I thought my husband would like this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is decorated in the 1940s/1950s style even the music in the lobby is from the 40s. The dinner is a step back in time, bring your poodle skirt. When we first arrived it was quiet but later in the day there were 9 private planes parked like cars on the runway. The rooms and bathrooms are large and everything is well taken care of. The hotel is located 2 miles from town but it's an easy drive. Everyone was very nice, friendly, and helpful. The only negative was the bartender. Some one should remind her that tips really depend on good service and a smile. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2lilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We chose this hotel for our one night in Fredricksburg because it looked like a really unique place. From the moment we walked in and heard the old 40s music and saw the old travel memorabilia, we were impressed. The room was beautifully furnished and the bathroom was spacious. The observation deck would have been a great place to hang out had the weather been a little better. Because we were there on a Sunday night, neither the Officers' Club nor the Diner were open so we didn't get to experience either. The continental breakfast was good.............my husband loved the cranberry scones. The only thing that would have made this property better would be to have refrigerators in the rooms. We need to travel with certain foods, so it was just a little bit of a pain to have to keep everything in the cooler iced down.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertbluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Hangar Hotel was awesome.

Stylish art deco interior. Firendly staff. Goergeous bar. Elegant rooms. Free coffee, juice and delicious cookies for breakfast.

We enjoyed a moonlit walk down the runway without disturbance!

Worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning_Patron_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,Az
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I love this place! We will fly in next time, but this time were driving through the Hill Country. It is quiet, with only the sounds of the crickets and the slight ticking of the old timey wind up clock to lull us to sleep. The bed was comfortable: an old four poster from the 50's. The room was appointed with exquisitely worn and comfortable large leather chairs. The bathroom was done in a 1950's style black and white tile with a wooden cabinet for the sink. We stayed in Room 2. Each of the rooms is decorated differently.

The people there are very warm, welcoming and cheerful. I could have snuggled up in this hotel for a week. I like the idea that we can fly our plane practically to the door and just grab a cart to bring our bags in. It just doesn't get much better than this. The hotel holds 50 people and the meeting rooms in the next hangar make it a perfect place for a fly-in and meeting. Definitely will be recommending this to all my friends.

Room Tip: If you have trouble going up stairs, there is no elevator, so make sure you book a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
2.8 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
829 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
453 reviews
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangar Hotel

Property: Hangar Hotel
Address: 155 Airport Rd, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7673
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hangar Hotel was uniquely designed with an exterior appearance of a WWII hangar of the romantic 1940s. The Airport Conference Center, Airport Diner and Officers' Club also reflect the style of the era and offer a great space for hosting events or simply for a weekend get-away. This 50 room boutique hotel offers a stylish adult environment featuring airplane memorabilia, USO history and the romance of the 1940s. Relax amidst the aviation-themed backdrop and experience the Hangar Hotel’s service and attention to detail, steeped in the excitement of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hangar Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing