We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, yet disappointing...”
Review of Hangar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hangar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel was very nicely appointed, comfortable and clean. I stayed at the hotel because they were the host of a large geologic convention. My only complaint was that since the convention (attended by over 400 people) ran from Sunday to Wednesday, we never had use of the Officers club or dining facility. The hotel is not in walking distance of anything, so you must drive everywhere for food or drink. This proved to complicate things when many of us wanted a drink to end the night before going to bed. Such an extremely large missed opportunity.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 354 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Where else can you either drive your car or fly your plane to spend a night or 2 nights or more but at the fantastic Hangar Hotel ?! We spent 2 nights and wished we could have stayed forever !! the room was beautiful, spacious, quiet, clean. The staff extremely friendly, courteous, helpful. Music in the Officer Club was a delight with one night listening to piano player Duncan and his very patient dog Lucky and the following night enjoying the classical guitar of Kevin McCormick. Relaxing outside in rocking chairs looking at the patrons private airplanes coming and going. Enjoying a scenic helicopter one-hour tour to view the Enchanted Rock with Trent, our very knowledgeable pilot. There was even a Buddy Holly concert in the attenant ballroom.

We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePerrys_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just checked out this morning, stayed one night and would have stayed longer but they were sold out over the weekend. First time in Fredericksburg, but not likely the last as we are always looking for interesting places to stop when flying cross country. This is a truly unique property reflecting incredible attention to detail. I, for one, am a fan of the no kids, pets, or smoking policy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent three nights at this great, little hotel just minutes from downtown. Old World War II Pacific Theater theme throughout. They spared no expense inside and out. Staff was friendly and talkative each time we walked through the lobby. Rooms very nice! Only two things I could suggest improvement...a bit more lighting in rooms (dark areas) and upgrade to new tv's. Some comments said no wifi, but we had full wifi service throughout our stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rcgrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This a a very charming and quite Hotel . As you check in your are transported back in time the quaint decor and the nostalgia is very appealing here. The lady at the front desk that helped us was very nice. As we settled we walked around the property and got a good feel of how nice and private the area felt. No children no pets here. It was fun waching the small jets land. They have a small dinner but it was closed when we made it in . The room was very clean and the bathroom had a nice retro touch. The mattress is very hard and the pillows are too but they have smaller pillows in the closet if you need them. We did let the front desk know and they where very accomodating about it. In the morning they have scones and juice for breakfast. We got a good rate and I would stay there again for that price.

Room Tip: No fitness center no Wi Fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a boutique hotel my husband and I have stayed at several times, most recently in conjunction when they hosted Johnny Rodriquez' Buddy Holly venue from Branson this past weekend. The concert did not disappoint but for the first time staying at the Hangar Hotel, the room did! The front desk acknowledged we have stayed at HH multiple times and profusely apologized for maintenance issues we experienced before she said she "would try to do something on a future stay" for us when I called down to report the issues prior to checkout (so as not to cause them any embarrassment with other customers). Not sure why she couldn't have done something when we later checked out of the room since she knew we didn't get the good night's rest we hoped for in our weekend get away. Oh well. If retrospect, if we hadn't arrived back to our room so late from the concert, we could have requested another room but perhaps she felt we should have called to report the crashing noise of porcelain on the rocking toilet hitting the ceramic tile during the night--you get the picture! Then there was the chinese water torture of drip, drip, drip each time someone in a location outside our room turned on the water--they definitely have a water leak that will keep you awake in room #28 so stay away from that one until it's fixed . Another guest complained to me at the breakfast buffet she was cranky because her air conditioning hadn't worked all night. It seems like there are some minor maintenance issues that are cropping up they need to address and keep their customers satisfied when they report them, especially when we are paying $197 per night for these rooms (spring rate, tax included).

I won't repeat the info already provided by other reviewers but am adding some details I would have found helpful to know about. There's no "bad" side to this hotel--we've stayed in rooms on both sides which provide great views of airplanes' landing and taking off--though second floor rooms have a better view than those on first floor and the hotel has an indoor elevator for ferrying your belongings up and down. Continental breakfast is provided each morning which while we visited included hot coffee (decaf and regular with "to go" cups), hot water with assorted tea bags, individual assorted canned juices (OJ, V8, cranberry, apple, etc.). fresh fruit bowl (bananas, apples, oranges) and fresh baked cranberry-orange scones (awesome!).

A big disappointment is how early the Airport Diner closes (also beautifully decorated in 40s- era themes like the hotel & conference areas), as early as 4PM on Saturdays and there are NO mini-refrigerators in the hotel rooms to keep food cold. Additionally, the hotel does not provide courtesy transportation into Fredericksburg which translates to significant expense for cab fare due to the distant location from the airport to the main drag in town.

When the Airport Diner is open, we love to eat here--they have a breakfast and lunch menu. Their burgers are scrumptuous, cooked to your order (rare, medium, well done) and served with chips or for $1 more, fries and I also like adding like adding their thick sliced bacon and cheddar cheese on mine. While waiting for my $10 burger, I order my $5 strawberry shake but who cares when it's made thick and delicious the old fashioned way completed with a malted milk cup and spindle machine? I sip my shake leftovers all throughout my meal and even manage to save a little leftover strawberries and cream for my pilot who will be flying me home.

Room Tip: Avoid room #28 until "rocking" toilet and adjacent location leaks are repaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mrspilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly A, Manager at Hangar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We always want our guests to completely enjoy their stay with us and we apologize that yours was anything less than perfect.

From time to time maintenance issues will come up, as they do in all hotels, and we appreciate when guests bring any issues to our attention so that they can be addressed immediately. Our front desk staff noted your concerns and we have already had maintenance repair the issues referenced in your review.

The Airport Diner is not open for dinner; we serve delicious, fresh breakfast and lunch options - service times are posted on our website and on-site. (11AM - 2PM Wed - Fri, 8AM - 4PM Saturday, 8AM - 2PM Sunday) Thank you for your compliments of our food; we strive to serve the best.

We do not offer courtesy transportation in to town, but we are happy to provide our guests with various options. We are located approximately 2.5 miles from downtown and our local cab service can pick up guests and take them in to town for around $5/person. There is also rental car service onsite in addition to numerous limo/shuttle services in town if guests are looking for options for a group.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us; please know that we take all customer concerns seriously and will use your input to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from our first stay at this unique hotel. It's right on the small plane airport outside of Fredericksburg, yet still just a few minutes from all the action of downtown. The staff was very helpful when I called early in the afternoon on the day we wanted the accommodation and made a notation of our expected late arrival time. We stayed three nights.
The rooms are tastefully done. Although it is not a big deal, you might want to be aware that there is no free wi-fi (hard line available, bring yours if you need to set up your laptop), coffee is available in the lobby area but not the hotel room, and the Officers' Club (bar/lounge) is not open Monday - Wednesday evenings. We would have liked to be able to settle in for a drink and have friends over.
All the guests were friendly and I enjoyed watching the small planes take off and land just outside. Another thing to be aware of is that there are NO PETS, SMOKING, OR CHILDREN allowed. Got that? Because it's a big deal. Also, do not rely on your GPS to get there; use map, google map, or call them for specific directions.

Room Tip: If you do want to smoke, tell them and they get put you right by the exit so you can GO OUTSIDE to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twin2tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
924 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
857 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
#6 of 25 in Fredericksburg
608 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangar Hotel

Address: 155 Airport Rd, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7673
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $119 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hangar Hotel was uniquely designed with an exterior appearance of a WWII hangar of the romantic 1940s. The Airport Conference Center, Airport Diner and Officers' Club also reflect the style of the era and offer a great space for hosting events or simply for a weekend get-away. This 50 room boutique hotel offers a stylish adult environment featuring airplane memorabilia, USO history and the romance of the 1940s. Relax amidst the aviation-themed backdrop and experience the Hangar Hotel’s service and attention to detail, steeped in the excitement of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hangar Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing