We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cafe”
Review of The City Cafe

The City Cafe
Ranked #28 of 137 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Your typical small town cafe where the local "boys" eat. Good breakfast and quick service. They had a lot of people ordering breakfast burritos to go-would be a great option if you're headed somewhere for the day!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lenibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    32
    13
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Ruth d”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Breakfast was fast and easy. very reasonable prices. The staff was friendly and eager to make you happy

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It lost some charm along the way”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This used to be one of our go-to places for breakfast when we went to visit family, but the last 2 visits have gone consistently downhill. The decline was noticeable enough that we do not plan on giving it another chance.

The first time we noticed the decline, I ordered biscuits and gravy. The gravy came out lumpy and tasted like flour (which were the lumps). I was surprised they even let it out of the kitchen since it was visibly bad. I scraped off the gravy and ate the biscuits with butter and jelly. The employees didn't even notice or ask about that.

The next time we went we were hoping that last visit was a fluke, but had a similar experience. My over medium eggs had mostly runny egg white in the middle, and we waited an extremely long time for our food and for drink refills despite the fact that it wasn't busy.

The people have always been friendly, and were always kind to my parents and chatty with my dad, who loved to talk to people.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We went to City Café on a Sunday morning. It was pretty busy and hard to tell who was standing in line to pay and who was standing in line to be seated.

We didn't wait too long to be seated. Service was somewhat slow but our server had good support from others. It took awhile to get our food but our drinks were never empty for long.

The food tasted like your typical café food. It was good but nothing really made it stand out.

Not my favorite place for breakfast in Fredericksburg but I would return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aimee780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, low cost and great service”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I ate here twice while on vacation. Both times the food was good. The cost was lower than we normally spend on this type of breakfast. the staff was attentive and very friendly. I recommend this spot for breakfast with out reservation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OAK-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The City Cafe also viewed

Fredericksburg, TX
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to The City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing