We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!”
Review of Tuscan Sun Trattoria - CLOSED

Tuscan Sun Trattoria
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Tuscan Sun Trattoria is the perfect place to have a few drinks after work with friends while you experience the spirit and lightheartedness of the Italian kitchen. Stop by for a quick lunch or to have a nice relaxing dinner with the family. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations on every visit and we have something for everyone; whether you’re having an old favorite like Spaghetti and Meatballs or trying something new like our Italian Black Cherry Smoked Pork Ribs. Come and enjoy a glass of wine and discover the Italian Spirit.Days Of OperationDaily 11 AM - 9 PM
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

On a recent trip we happened into Tuscan Sun. The food was amazing. It will be on any future stop to the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerrySAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a down to earth Italian restaurant with spaghetti and meatballs, lasagna, as well as more upscale Italian dishes. All entrees come with a salad or minestrone and delicious homemade bread. The lasagna was large enough to take some home, hot and tasty. Others at the table had a pork dish topped with Italian ham and a chicken breast with pasta. All were satisfied with their meals. Decor is informal in an old diner, and there is a full bar. The only improvement we suggest could be to the salad which was romaine lettuce (a plus), tomato, and red onion- maybe adding some olives, carrots, cheese, or croutons to give it a little zip. My friends and I recommend this place and will come again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travgal0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Giuseppe Rockets”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Tuscan Sun is an Italian restaurant in a former diner, all red and white, vinyl and stainless steel. They threw up some fake plastic vines on the walls to give it an Italian feel, but the whole ambiance is bizarre, a cross between Johnny Rockets and an Italian eatery. The food was average at best, my wife's chicken picatta was so heavily sauced with butter, she had to send it back for a lighter sauce. My pasta with tomato sauce was average at best, nothing special. The server tried very hard to please and she was a sweet gal. They really need to do something about the decor.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Astarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ignore the exterior, the good stuff is inside”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Tuscan Sun is a couple of miles off main street and is housed in what used to be a free standing restaurant that was a 50's style burger joint - black and white checkerboard, neon, you get the idea. Ignore all of that. If you're coming for the food you're at the right place. The calamari was really delicious, the pasta cooked perfectly and everything was very flavorful. Went with another couple and we each had a different entree - lasagna, spaghetti and meatballs, past puttanesca and chicken piccata. Everyone really enjoyed their food and hardly a morsel was left behind. Portions are generous and reasonably priced, wine list is affordable with enough variety to satisfy. Will definitely go back on a future visit to Fredericksburg.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoSanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in unexpected place”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had lunch with another couple. Food was fantastic. Especially great calamari. Everyone ordered a different dish and no one was dissaPointed. I loved the chicken picatta. Drive a mile off main street and enjoy something different and tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 8itall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscan Sun Trattoria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing