We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great music!”
Review of Hondo's on Main

Hondo's on Main
Ranked #10 of 139 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Denton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Good food and great music!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My friends and I went here for dinner and to hear the great music they always have. Burgers are good, beer is cold. What else do you need! We had gone to Luckenbach the night before and it was fun too. Bringing your dancing shoes as they tend to book good bands to dance to. Everyone was friendly, only down-side is you have to order food from the bartender? A place this big should have waitresses, as it's just too much for bartender. Love the atmosphere and the history of this town!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tahoequeen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    281
    109
    28
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Statesboro, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always Fun”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Tortilla soup will cure your cold. Green chili enchiladas are excellent. The mix of music provided continues to expand, s string quartet. Motzart to the Beatles what's not to like. Staff always makes you feel at home.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Entertainment beats the food”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Enjoyed a good band playing dancealbe country to an enthusiastic crowd. Cuisine was greasy, but tasty burgers. It's self service restaurant. French fries served in a tin can. A girl scout selling cookies was unique, but we were in Texas.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elmo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheelock, TX
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Live Music”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We didn't eat at Hondo's. We ended up here after dinner for live music and drinks. There wasn't a lot to choose from in the live music scene right in downtown Fredericksburg, but Hondo's filled the bill. We had drinks and listened to live Texas music, danced a little, and visited with friendly strangers. It was a fun evening (and over-priced), but we will probably visit again on our next trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sassybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hondo's On Main”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

A true slice of Texas Americana......Delightfully weird in the Austin Tradition, but very satisfiying....Emma 2023....Really??....On a very dreary, cold, damp January afternoon...Hondo's saved my life...in a few words...hot...spicy...filling...tortilla soup.....I can still feel the love...not many old Texas venues left....too bad....kept me going long enough to write this review..Try it !!

Helpful?
Thank TheBigGuy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hondo's on Main also viewed

 

Been to Hondo's on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing