We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Messina Hof Hill Country
Ranked #17 of 102 things to do in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: n 2011 Messina Hof Hill Country Winery opened its doors in Fredericksburg, the second largest wine tourism destination in the country. Sitting on nearly 10 acres in the heart of Texas wine country along Highway 290, this winery also has its own vineyard. The Lenoir grapes grown at this location go into the making of more traditional style ports.
maxe1lab
Level Contributor
288 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a great lunch with homemade peach cobbler along with our wine tasting here. The wine was great. The people were friendly. The place was clean and decorated nicely with many tasting bars.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank maxe1lab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    34
    12
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Relaxing inviting setting with great wines for tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a Missina Hof wine at dinner one evening and I especially liked it. It was the last place we visited, but it was a top level place. The room is a little too big, but I understand that there are additional plans for using some of the space. The staff is very knowledgable. The bar is surrounded by tables and the staff brings the wine to you. Especially nice at the end of the day. The only downside is that the brochure gives some very inviting descriptions of some of the wines, but the guest center has a fairly limited selection of bottles for purchase. Still very worthwhile making a stop here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DownsizerNettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Great hospitality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stopped in as a last stop on our winery tour while in Fredericksburg. It was not on our list as this location is new in the area, but this wine is not new to Texas. Loved the Sweet Red, and enjoyed our tasting in a very nice new building Steve was our tasting host and was very personable and made it fun! So glad we decided to turn. in. It is across the hwy. from Grape Creek Vinyards and just a few miles from central Fredericksburg.

Helpful?
1 Thank chext57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The winery was a little crowded when we got there and I thought about leaving, but am glad we didn't. When we finally got up to the bar, we sampled some delicious wines and spoke to a well educated employee. We enjoyed the wines so much that we signed up for their wine club. Make sure you try their Solera Texas sherry....fantastic stuff. Their military discount is also a bonus.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Texas2011a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Winery In Fredericksburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Took a chance and stopped in this New Winery to the area. Opened in October. Found they had been in Texas since 1977 and had a lot of experience with making quality wines. For good tasting wine check out this place. They are not as spectacular a location visually as some of the other wineries, but the wine is great!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank roadstarAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Messina Hof Hill Country also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Messina Hof Hill Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing