We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal interest”

Admiral Nimitz State Historic Site
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.33*
and up
Hill Country Magic Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Personal interest”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My parents were in the Philippines and traveled on a ship with Adm. Heart...we found most of the exhibit very interesting...and the history was great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie1335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    85
    18
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“small, simple and fascinating”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

It may not be the biggest museum you'll visit but it gives an insight to the man most of only know through his WWII endeavours. Well worth the visit to discover more about how Nimitz became the man he did.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Trapse around the rooms and outdoor sights for a view of photos and items of interest to the history buffs and others interested in U.S. and Texas history.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RBG49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A must for WW II buffs!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

You would never expect such a great museum in this small town. They have Navy artifacts that are one of a kind. The Japanese float plane the the PT Boat are things you just don't see in any other museums! With the honor that is created and the history that you see it is worth the drive from anywhere in the US.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sbri09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Admiral Nimitz State Historical Museum”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Even though the title of this review is Admiral Nimitz State Historical Museum, there is more to the area than the museum. The entire area is historical, and well worth the trip. The Fredericksburg founders are the only group of settlers to make a treaty with the Native-Americans and not break it. In addition, the courthouse where President Johnson’s parents were married & his childhood ranch is located here. I would tell you more about the area, but this is about the museum.

I am currently writing a paper, & I needed source material for the project. Thus my wife & I visited the Fredericksburg area. This museum, in this small community is better than many museums I have been to in major cities. The museum sales clerk stated that it would take six hours to go through the entire museum, and she was 100% correct. For the best results for a day trip, visit this place when they open. However, tickets are VERY reasonable and good for 48hours. When it comes to the war in the pacific, this place is big and comprehensive. The exhibits are configured in a linear fashion, meaning the museum follows the timeline of the war, island by island. Many exhibits are accompanied by personal accounts from the troops stationed in each location. This is an excellent/perfect gift for a Navy troop, young or old. I did I say free parking is everywhere? Before you do anything in Fredericksburg, visit the visitor’s center across the street from the museum & watch the free movie!

In short, this was one of the beast day trips we have been on in a long time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoDa0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Admiral Nimitz State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Admiral Nimitz State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing