We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, not great, & will look elsewhere next time.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ok, not great, & will look elsewhere next time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

If you want to be downtown where the action is, this is not your place. It's at the edge if town,but that did not bother me. i knew the area and was ok with driving a couple if miles to the attractions. The staff were very nice and the rooms appeared clean. Breakfast was ok, but limited. No fresh fruit, but lots of bread items- if that's your thing! The hotel, really has a lot of things going against it. Our room had double beds and I'm not sure if they had any with 2 queens. The staff gave us an extra mattress for one kid to sleep in. He loved it! Pretty tight for four people, though. There was only one restaurant within walking distance, but it was not a problem for us. No indoor or heated pool, but I did not really find any others in our price range that did. The biggest drawback was that the hotel was 40 feet from and parallel to the main highway and lots of 18 wheelers go by. The stop sign is right across the street so you could hear them gearing down to stop. we were staying on the highway side, so im not sure how loud it would have been on the other side. All in all, not bad. Because I'm originally from the area, I knew where things were and did not mind the drive. I think the typical Fredericksbug tourist would prefer something within walking distance of main street.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexTravelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    39
    11
    19
See reviews for
31
51
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent one night there with very little sleep. The bed was very comforatable and the room was very clean but you could not turn on the bathroom light without a very noisy exhaust fan coming on as well. Evidently the room next to us decided to leave their light on all night and I could hear the very loud noise in my room as well all night. Friendly front staff and typical breakfast offering.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Overpriced...I've stayed at better hotels for less money. The breakfast was ok, but they close it right on the dot even if you are still eating. Front desk staff was pretty friendly and helpful. I can see why it was the only hotel that wasn't booked. It was just ok. Not overly impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fredericksburg hotels

Houston
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I'd give it 2-1/2 stars if I could. For the price of $75/night it was worth it, but you shouldn't pay more. The smoke detector was hanging out of the ceiling which was concerning, but the a/c worked fine and the room was basically clean (or clean enough to tolerate anyway). Breakfast was ok and it was close to Main St., but not really close enough to walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tx_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hotel was clean. There were stains on carpet and one of our rooms smelled musty but staff was very friendly!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dedear06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Well after a long hard day we showed up at this place and boy we have been taken for sure. The room is very large but very old and outdated. The bathrrom leaves a great deal to be desired. The customer service is very good but this is not worth $150.00 a night. We stay in the hill country all the time and this is the worst place we haved stayed at. Thank God we only booked one night.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarksLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel is ok, service was good. We booked 2 rooms through a booking service because their website showed no rooms available, when in fact there were many! When I checked in, I was told that had I called, I would've gotten my AAA rate at 10% off what we paid. I didn't call because their website said they didn't have rooms that night! I mentioned this, and the desk clerk told me it was because there was an ongoing "issue" with this property and the chain it is supposed to be part of. I don't think this was fair, and felt I was overcharged. That aside, the wallpaper was peeling in the bathrooms of both the rooms we stayed in. My friend said it had been stapled back to the wall in her room! The beds were comfortable. The location isn't all that great. There is highway noise on one entire side of the hotel, and it's too far to walk to the shops and restaurants on the east side of Main Street where we always dine and shop. The breakfast was a joke, don't even bother. There are too many great restaurants in Fredericksburg to go for breakfast anyway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the highway, unless you're a heavy sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mombatDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#15 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel

Property: Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Address: 1220 North US Highway 87, Fredericksburg, TX 78624 (Formerly Howard Johnson Fredericksburg-Hill Country)
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing