We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Walnut Canyon Guest Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
$100
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)
$59
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
$150
$137
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peach Tree Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on Barons Creek(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main(Fredericksburg)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunday House Inn(Fredericksburg)(Great Value!)
$114
$111
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
79
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocky topfarm fresh eggsalamo springs cafetree housethese cabinsback porchbeautiful drivebiscuitslookout cabinold tunnel state parksecluded cabinhill countrybreakfast suppliescharcoal grillmilky waycanadian baconsaw deer
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 79 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our family booked cabins for a two night stay and David was so pleasant and accommodating to our needs as well as helpful. The cabins are spaced nicely apart for privacy but close enough to walk to and from. All are meticulous with detailed craftsmanship. Perfect if you want secluded peace and quite. First morning there were about 8 deer just off the balcony to watch. Resident animals are adorable miniature horses, a mule, chickens and a rooster. The refrigerator is stocked nicely with breakfast items if you want a small or large breakfast. The cabins are so clean and cozy. We stayed in The Woods and Rocky Top and they were a perfect fit for our family gathering. David checked us in and checked on us the next day as well. The road to get here is windy and it is in the country with wonderful views. Trip into Fredericksburg, the nearest town, is about 15 min. There is a restaurant just down the road know for it's burgers (separate review) and the Old Tunnel State Park is really close. I could go on and on but suffice it to say, if you want solitude and a cozy/clean cabin with Texas hospitality then you need to stay here. Thank you David for a memorable stay:)

Room Tip: The Woods Cabin has a bit more open space but the Rocky Top has very comfy love seats in center room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

If you are looking for a quite peaceful hilltop retreat far out in the country near Fredericksburg, the Walnut Canyon Guest Cabins would be hard to beat. The only sounds you hear are Mourning Doves calling to each other and the breeze moaning in the trees. Clean comfortable cabins on a hilltop with panoramic views. A small miniature donkey with a really funny attitude greeted us when we arrived. He likes to be scratched behind the ears. Drive slowly on the country roads especially early morning and late evening because deer are everywhere.

Room Tip: All four cabins have nice views and are clean and comfortable. The Rocky top cabin has two separate private bedrooms which was nice for us.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I like to take a week once a year to do a motorcyle vacation. If we are staying in Canada, we take our own Harley. If we are heading stateside and only have a week, we rent one near the ultimate riding destination. In April of 2013 we flew to Houston and picked up a bike then headed for Hill Country, Texas. We spent the week touring around and staying in different cabins each night. We have done this every year for the past few years, as we love the bike and love doing a week where we stay at a different place each night, having a relaxed schedule to see whatever sights we want, eat at whatever looks like a cool place and just generally enjoy the sights and sounds of every new town we visit. We always rent cabins when we do these bike trips and have so far, toured Route 66 through Arizona to the Grand Canyon, The Florida Keys, Northern Georgia and Death Valley/Palm Springs. I can honestly say that the best accomodations that we have come across thus far is the Walnut Canyon Cabins. We had only allotted one night in Fredericksburg and it was our last. If we had of stayed there earlier in the week - we would have stayed for another 2 or 3 days. When you are on a bike, you have limited packing space. So little things like linens and towels are not only appreciated but necessary. Coming to a place like WCC is a biker's ideal way of travelling. Once we checked in with Laurie and David - both amazing people, we unpacked then did the quick drive back to downtown Fredericksburg for some steaks, some wine and a handful of basic groceries to make dinner that night.
As previously mentioned on this website - breakfast is provided SO nicely - you don't have to worry about buying a lot of stuff that you would just have to throw out the next day - because it's already there. The kitchen is your regular kitchen at home - everything you need and more. The bathroom is just like home, with extra towels, soap, shampoo, hair dryer and i even noticed a drawer full of the "just in case" stuff that a female might need....which again, i think is extremely thoughtful!!!!
The cabins are quite new and REALLY nice. Wood floors, wood furntiure and trim - nice furniture, not 1970's rec room furniture that they found in a garage sale. This is the kind of cabin/cottage that you would build for yourself at the lake. There are also a ton of movies so you can watch them if your husband has a few drinks after a long day of riding and falls asleep by 10:00!! He is also a fussy sleeper and stated the beds and linens were more comfortable than ours at home.....nice.
We got back from town - showered and then had our wine sitting on the back porch in the comfy and beautiful adirondack style chairs, just soaking up the atmosphere. Then out to the front to light the charcoal grill and get the steaks going. While they were slowly cooking, we grabbed our glasses of wine and went to pet the donkey, the miniature horses and hang out with Zeke and Mr. Bojangles, the dogs. Chickens and roosters were walking over to our table by the BBQ to check out the grass. The cottages are all quite private, quite separate from Laurie and David's home and secluded by the trees. Just a picturesque place and a glorious place to feel comfortable and relax after a day of riding. If you are looking for bars and nightlife - Fredericksburg has a lot of cool brewery style pubs/German food. We hung out on the patio for lunch one day - but you could easily go into town for nightlife and cab it back if that is what you wanted. If you are a "biker dude" and are looking for neon and crowds and loud music - this may not be your place. But if you are "biker enthusiast" or a couple who just wants to tour during the day and relax at night with each other or even the folks in neighbouring cabins - this is absolutely the place for you. That being said, there is a bar and restaurant just around the corner from WCC at a designated lookout spot - so you can still get your feel of some nightlife. Or if you go with a crowd, this would be close enough to eat out, have a few drinks and not worry about drinking and driving the bike back. I would like to write WCC up in all of the Motorcyle magazines to let people know about this haven for two-wheeled travellers.
David and Laurie are fabulous people - they have thought of everything and are incredibly hospitable. We visited with them for about an hour in their house when we checked out and they are the kind of people you would want to have dinner and drinks with and just chat for hours about anything and everything. We were a tad concerned that we might not be the right guests for this resort, as when I first found the website, the Religious references on the site made me think this might not be the place for us. I GUARANTEE you that regardless of your faith (or lack of) - David and Laurie will make you feel like family and you might even find yourself sitting on the back porch with your wine, looking at the beauty around you and think.....hmmm...maybe they're onto something!!! I wish them all the success in the world and we definitely plan to be back. I hope the bikers of the world find out about Walnut Canyon Cabins - as it is made for that style of travel - luxury with limited packing space!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lookout and it was terrific - but I can't imagine the others would be too different. The cottage looked exactly as it did on the website.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vodkatonic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

(And I Love Bread) Truly a Slice of Heaven.
Visit this part of the Hill Country frequently,,,,,,,,,,, never stay anywhere else. If you are desiring peace and tranquility, Walnut Canyon Cabins is where you want to be.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaTxan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

While in Austin before Easter, my sister and I wanted to hike at Enchanted Rock State Park and see bluebonnets-- so we checked for cabins near Fredericksburg on TripAdvisor. I was attracted to the Walnut Canyon Guest Cabins by the two things: (1) these cabins are more than a stones throw "out of town" (ie, likely to feel like you are "in the country") and (2) every person who has reviewed these cabins has rated them as "excellent". So I called the number, and talked with David -- typically Texan -- a gracious man who says only what needs to be said. He had one cabin vacant for that evening - the Tree House- and if we wanted it, all we needed to do was pay with credit card or paypal on the Cabins website. We did that. Then we used GoogleMaps to figure out the way there from Austin. It was a very nice drive down the Old San Antonio Road -- which used to be the main road for wagons going between Fredericksburg and San Antonio in the late 1800s. The road passes a well-preserved old German Farmstead with a Texas Historical marker that describes the family that once lived there from mid 1850s to early 1900s. They had a thriving business, driving wagons of freight between Indianola and San Antonio. (Indianola was once a thriving Texas Gulf port where immigrants from Germany arrived, until a hurricane destroyed it). The Old San Antonio roadbed was, at one point, converted into a train track bed (and then eventually the tracks were removed when the train stopped running). To reach the cabins, you go down Old San Antonio Road until you eventually turn left on Alamo Rd just at one of Texas´s tiniest state parks - 5 acres surrounding the entrance to the abandoned railroad tunnel which is now summer home to thousands of Mexican bats. Tourists come here on summer evenings to watch the clouds of bats leave the tunnel at sunset, and then enjoy a cool drink and burger at the Alamo Springs Cafe next door. This cafe is also the "eating out" option if you are going to the cabins which are on down the road. Cabins were exactly as advertised - isolated enough from each other to feel private, and rustic and practical but with some luxurious touches, and neat as a pin. The refrigerator held the much-mentioned farm fresh eggs (they were really good!) as well as other items for making ones own hearty breakfast, including orange juice and biscuits. A small sign reminds you that "it´s fine to use the washer as a hamper for your used towels and linens"-- ie gently reminding you to strip the beds before you leave. One nice touch - in the upstairs loft , next to the balcony porch of the Tree House, there is a pair of binoculours and a small telescope for watching the hawks that soar over the Texas Hill Country trees that extending to the horizon behind the cabins. There was an AC in the wall for the summer, and an electric heater for winter cold. As in many modern Texas ranches, there is an electric gate - good to close it when you leave so the herd of miniature horses don´t get loose -- nice Texas touch. In the morning, after enjoying those fresh eggs, it took us just under an hour to drive to Enchanted Rock State Park via Fredericksburg, where we enjoyed hiking until late afternoon, with enough time to get back to Austin for an evening of music!

Room Tip: The individual cabins are as described - read the descriptions and pick the one you like. All are good.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews