We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Main Street Fredericksburg, TX” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Main Street

Main Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.33*
and up
Hill Country Magic Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Main Street Fredericksburg, TX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We loved walking and shopping on Main Street. There are lots of shops and places to eat. We especially liked the Old Tyme Fun Shop. The owner spent lots of time with our grandkids and they loved all her magic tricks and she was really good at helping them find tricks that they could do successfully.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hpp123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    376
    94
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Whatever you are seeking, it is here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My mother and I have travelled to Fredericksburg three times. Each time we try to map out a strategy for shopping Main Street. This last time we just started at the west end of the street near the Amish Market and worked our way east. We covered all the shops we love and didn't get too tired. One of our favorites is Leathers with Style. The leathergoods make thoughtful gifts. The Amish Market is a great place to pick up some wonderful cheeses, canned fruits, jellies, and beautifully crafted furniture. If you love jewelry, almost every other shop has a tempting assortment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTraveler107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Visited last May 11, 2013.

This was a nice 3+ blocks of walking. Lots of quaint shops. I agree that some of the shops were a bit pricey. But, there are a lot of interesting finds that may be worth it. I bought a nice fashion bracelet for $30. We had dinner at Pasta Bella. Ravioli was a bit cold but they had big servings. Lots of other nice small restaurants worth checking out. Nice to spend a few nights to explore this place and relax a bit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SirisManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Variety in shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Favorites include Chocolat (try the chocolates with the alcohol centers, Delicious). Artisans at Rocky Hill Gallery (all art and jewelry by Texas artists, most pricey but a beautiful place to window shop). Choo Choll Trolley Patio Shop (tons of lawn art/sculptures, fun place to browse. There is a lot of benches and places to sit outside of the various shops, my mom has a bad back, has to stop frequently to rest, and this was very appreciated.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank seekingserenity097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lots of shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

There are quite a few more shops that have opened since my last visit to town I found a few little gifts for birthday gifts and such. Like the friendliness of the sales staff and was able to browse at my leisure.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank azulwater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street also viewed

 

Been to Main Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing