We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room but not luxurious enough for the cost.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Across the Way - Front & Back Porch
Ranked #48 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice clean room but not luxurious enough for the cost.”
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

The room was nice and clean but it was an awkward space. The hot tub was good but there was no ventilation in the small hot tub room and there was nowhere to Put the hot tub lid. Positive side- clean and so close to shopping!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomandsteph2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, Texas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I took my bride back to Fredericksburg for her birthday and she loved the Front Porch. We had lots of room, a wonderful bed and a great jacuzzi in the room. It was too cold to get in the hot tub though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaplainkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

a cozy little cottage. and a great location. no shower, just a bath. for some that's romantic, but trying to get ready was a little awkward. but that aside the cottage was great. meal vouchers didn't get you much but every little bit helps. we'd go back next weekend if we could!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckeezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I absolutely love this place. The bathroom is very cozy and romantic. The bed is awesome. I slept like a baby. The Front Porch has been very clean each time I have stayed. The location is great. Just Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bethel, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

My wife, Terri, and I wanted to explore Fredricksberg and in particular, heard about all the great B&B's. We went on-line and found "The Back Porch". The pictures of this unit are great, but don't do it justice. When you first arrive, you quickly notice how nice an quite the neighborhood is. The Back Porch is close to the charming downtown shops and cafe's, but far enough away that you get no traffic noise. We loved the jetted tub and we took advantage of that everyday AND the hot tub in the charming detached out building. The Back Porch had everything we needed or could want. The town of Fredricksberg, had anything else we wanted. The bonus coupons for breakfast were great too. It let us try out the wonderful cafe's and sample the looking down home cooking. We are already trying to plan another trip to the B&B Capital of the World.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkomomua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2010

We loved that we could walk literally 2 blocks to town. The hot tub was wonderful and even though outside in the side/front, still private.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katenolte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Everyone was very nice and the room was great. It was a very relaxing stay. Also very close to all the shops.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
852 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
#7 of 25 in Fredericksburg
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Austin Street Retreat
Austin Street Retreat
#25 of 81 in Fredericksburg
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
#29 of 81 in Fredericksburg
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blacksmith Quarters on Baron's Creek
Blacksmith Quarters on Baron's C...
#12 of 28 in Fredericksburg
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Across the Way - Front & Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Across the Way - Front & Back Porch

Property: Across the Way - Front & Back Porch
Address: 211 W Travis St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3852
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the Way is a darling duplex in the historic district offering two separate suites, named for where you enter them....the Front Porch and the Back Porch. Each suite offers a king bed with beautiful linens, a comfortable den, and a private bath with jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing