We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hill Country Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed during Oktoberfest and have to say it was a very pleasant experience. 1st off the location is great. Just a couple of miles from all the middle of town. Very safe, secure place. The rooms are very cozy and clean. Our room had a jacuzzi style tub and a mini frig/microwave/coffee maker. The bed is oh so comfortable after climbing Enchanted Rock. One of those kind of beds that you do not want to get out of. The breakfast was really tasty and there was plenty to eat for everybody. It was very nice eating with others and getting to know them. But the best part of the Chuckwagon Inn Bed and Breakfast are the owners. Sam and Becky are some of the nicest folk you will met. Sam has some great stories of the area and his life and Becky is very knowledgeable about local restaurants. All in all it was very pleasant experience at reasonable rates with great owners. We will definitely be back and will tell our friends about this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLJONES21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 640 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had never stayed in this part of Fredericksburg, but we loved it. So quiet and peaceful! We stayed in the Mustang Bunkhouse. A nice size and very comfortable. Becky and Sam were gracious hosts and provided great stories and breakfasts! We will return. Their recommendations of activities and restaurants were spot on! Pet lovers we are, so meeting Elton John and Paco, was a treat!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong, the Mustang Bunkhouse was the only room available when we made our reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylviajordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Bollinger Cabin this past weekend and had a wonderful time. Becky and Sam are attentive hosts that really know how to make you feel at home.

We arrived late in the evening and had absolutely no trouble checking in our first night despite some messy weather. We were excited to see our cozy accommodations in the beautifully decorated cabin. In the morning we were treated with an incredible batch of cinnamon rolls, smoked ham, and a creative egg croissant invention. Our hosts gave us lots of ideas on what to do in the area and humored us with some funny stories about life in Fredericksburg.

The location is just far enough away from town to feel secluded, yet close enough to reach many popular sites. The location is also close to the Cabernet Grill which is an excellent steakhouse.

On our 2nd morning we had another incredible breakfast and enjoyed one last round of laughs with our hosts and other guests. We had a great stay and would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renasce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you've read other reviews of Chuckwagon, then you'll know the first point: the breakfasts are outstanding! It doesn't matter whether it's Sam or Becky doin' the cookin', you'll eat well and probably more than you expected! On top of that, they're just a delight to sit and talk with while you're eating.

The cabin we stayed in - Mustang Bunkhouse - is comfy, clean, and well supplied with all the amenities. The bed is big and comfortable, the towels soft and fluffy, the coffeemaker is supplied with ground coffee, and it's just overall a pleasure to stay in.

While it's a few miles from downtown, the drive is short enough to do several times a day (which we did) and it's nice to be near the County Airport and the Ladybird Johnson golf course - pretty quiet.

Since we came during the week, there were no others staying here, so I can't comment on whether there'd be noise from the cabin attached to ours.

Overall, we've loved our stay here and plan to return, perhaps repeatedly.

Room Tip: Get one of the larger, standalone cabins if you can, although it doesn't make that much differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in Becky and Sam's bed and breakfast in late August. Although the weather was hot, our stay in Becky's Kitchen was wonderfully cool. We were a little concerned about not being within walking distance of town, but it turned out the location was perfect. A short drive from town, close to Cabernet Grill (a wonderful restaurant) and close to the other attractions, such as the LBJ Ranch, which we wanted to visit. Becky and Sam are great hosts and great cooks. We were very well cared for. We followed all their dinner recommendations and were very pleased. Thanks, Becky and Sam!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent two nights at the Chuckwagon Inn as a base for touring Fredericksburg and vicinity. The Inn is conveniently located on the edge of town. The room was quaintly decorated like a bunkhouse and was roomy and comfortable. Becky and Sam are great hosts, and the breakfasts are delicious and fun, with Sam furnishing his unique spin on things. We highly recommend this B&B for anyone wanting a convenient and comfortable place to stay in the Hill Country.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed Sam & Becky's B&B half-a-dozen times over the past 11 years, and they continue to offer a premium experience with a level of personal touch that is increasingly rare. The various rooms are scattered among buildings on the grounds that are rustic, spotless, comfortable and genuine. Several (our favorites) have porches and swings, a perfect place to enjoy the hill country breezes with a glass of wine (or two...or three...) as afternoon turns to evening. Each room has a little something different to offer, and all are enjoyable. And to top it off...the breakfasts. Arrange your plans so that you do NOT miss 9am breakfast (and don't be late, lest your fellow guests help themselves to your share). We've never had a breakfast there that we didn't talk about (favorably!) later. If you're looking for a place to stay in the area, you won't be disappointed with Chuckwagon.
AND while you're there - don't miss Cabernet Grill and Der Lindenbaum for dinners, and if you like really good wine, go to Hilmy Cellars and Santamaria Cellars. You'll miss the crowds but you will get great wines.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
862 reviews
3 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
949 reviews
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#4 of 82 in Fredericksburg
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 82 in Fredericksburg
154 reviews
8.9 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 82 in Fredericksburg
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1156 Fm 2093, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chuckwagon Inn is an historic property on 5 1/2 acres only 2 miles from downtown Main St. The inn has 5 separate guest quarters including an 1850's log cabin, all of which have been beautifuly restored. Our rooms feature fireplaces, king beds and whirlpool tubs with showers and we serve a made from scratch full country breakfast each morning in the dining room of our 1854 stone house which is across the drive from the cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing