We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything We Hoped For-and More!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisville, Texas
2 reviews
“Everything We Hoped For-and More!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

All I can say is WOW! My husband and I were looking for a quick getaway to get out of the city. It was our first time to Fredericksburg and our first time to stay at a B&B. After lots of research we decided on the Bollinger Cabin at the Chuckwagon Inn, and we couldn't have been more pleased with our decision!

We met Mrs. Becky right after we arrived. She was so welcoming and gave us lots of recommendations on things to do and places to eat while we were in town. The cabin was perfect--cozy, comfortable, and clean. The king sized bed was wonderful and we both slept great! We also enjoyed the delicious Southern breakfasts that were prepared for us each morning. Sam and Becky are both wonderful people and make you feel right at home.

Overall, we enjoyed everything about our stay at the Chuckwagon Inn and would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing weekend away!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlliS130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
438
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time my husband and I have ever stayed at a B&B and it was a fantastic experience. We got the privacy we were worried we wouldn't have, but we also got the chance to have breakfast with and get to know our hosts and the other guests at breakfast. Breakfast was home cooked and delicious. We stayed in the Pear Tree Cottage, which was a great room with a fireplace. The bed was very comfy and the room was clean. There was a TV with cable and free wifi. We plan to come back and stay longer next time. I would recommend this place to family and friends and know they would also have a great experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chuckwagon Inn's Bollinger cabin. We spent three nights there and found it exceptionally clean and well maintained. Sam and Becky are very nice people and very good cooks. They made our stay in Fredericksburg great!
Barbara Roalson

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I wholeheartedly recommend the Chuckwagon Inn to everyone coming through Fredericksburg. The decor is a little cheesy, but extremely comfortable and part of the charming B&B experience.

I love the breakfast table where everyone comes together family-style for breakfast and conversation (punctuality is appreciated). Sure, you'll occasionally get a guest who is inappropriate, or just weird, but hey - that's part of the fun! The biggest draw, though, is the entertaining and genuinely caring couple, Sam and Becky, who own and run the B&B.

Whatever you want to do, Sam has a recommendation. If you have a plan, he won't railroad you, but if you decide to take him up on reservations, introductions, etc. you'll feel like an insider. It's also fun at the end of the day to take a rest on the porch and have a drink with Sam and your fellow guests.

I much prefer the cabins here to some of the other properties in the area. It's a short drive from Main Street, which means it's quieter. They don't have an onsite spa, which means there aren't "strangers" trapsing in and out all day. The rooms aren't all crammed on top of one another, which means you can have the...ahem...romantic experience you want.

Book with confidence. Bring your sense of humor. Have a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights as part of touring holiday, after having worked for three weeks around Dallas. We were thrilled with the Mustang Bunkhouse and couldn't stop giggling / saying wow when we entered the accommodation. Becky has really captured the essence of the cowboy look and feel, whilst providing quality lodgings. The bed was extremely comfortable with quality, new linens and plentiful, fluffy towels.

It is a great location to relax, we felt at home immediately. So much so that we decided to book a third night within an hour of getting there. I particularly enjoyed sitting outside and watching the world go by one afternoon.

Becky and Sam are excellent hosts; warm, welcoming and a wealth of information about places to see and eat locally. Dinner at the Crossroads saloon on Sunday evening was fab and their suggestion of Kranky Franks for typical Texan BBQ, when we asked where to go, was perfect.

Sam is an excellent chef and we enjoyed the breakfasts enormously. They were different every day, but the day with pancakes was the best. It was lovely to sit and chat with our hosts whilst we ate, and learn more about Texas.

The reason why this so refreshing was that after 3 weeks in a chain hotel, we appreciated the personal service, home cooked food and genuine character of the place and owners.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatesville, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We at this point consider Sam and Becky old friends. We have stayed several times so many that I have truly lost count. Our favorite is the Bollinger Cabin and when we first discovered this property the cabin had not been built. Both Sam and Becky are extremely personable, kind hearted and I promise you will laugh until you hurt. I once heard a very wise one say, "A GOOD Bed and Breakfast, is about the Bed and the Breakfast" :) Every one of the beds that we have stayed in on this property are more that comfortable and the "HOMESTYLE" breakfast is delightful. These folks have done it right. We will never stay at another bed and breakfast in Fredericksburg it would be like throwing our money away and we would also be cheating on our friends.
Susan S.

Room Tip: You will not go wrong with any of the properties at Sam and Becky's. The pictures on the enterne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Sam and Becky provided our family a wonderful getaway with their hospitality and great food!! Our Mom was celebrating her 85th birthday and her first experience at a B & B and this was definitely a treat for her! Sam and Becky are very knowledgeable on Fredericksburg and are a delight to talk with. The cabins are each uniquely decorated and very fun. We would definitely love to come back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
2.9 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#7 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#5 of 80 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1156 Fm 2093, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chuckwagon Inn is an historic property on 5 1/2 acres only 2 miles from downtown Main St. The inn has 5 separate guest quarters including an 1850's log cabin, all of which have been beautifuly restored. Our rooms feature fireplaces, king beds and whirlpool tubs with showers and we serve a made from scratch full country breakfast each morning in the dining room of our 1854 stone house which is across the drive from the cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing