We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun in Fredericksburg!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Sam and Becky provided our family a wonderful getaway with their hospitality and great food!! Our Mom was celebrating her 85th birthday and her first experience at a B & B and this was definitely a treat for her! Sam and Becky are very knowledgeable on Fredericksburg and are a delight to talk with. The cabins are each uniquely decorated and very fun. We would definitely love to come back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 650 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Once again we experienced unparalleled hospitality at The Chuckwagon Inn. As always Sam and Becky are the most welcoming hosts . Our favorite Mustang Bunkhouse was spotlessly clean with the gas fireplace ready to go! The breakfast that you are graciously served each morning are carefully planned and delicious. I've asked for several recipes after eating many a breakfast with Sam and Becky.

Not only is this bed and breakfast the best in town but your hosts are truly good people. You will leave feeling like you have made new friends for life. It's the only place we stay going twice a year and we probably just celebrated our tenth visit! See you in October Sam and Becky!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My family, recently, celebrated my mom's 85th birthday at Chuckwagon Inn. The owners, Sam and Becky, made my mom's first B&B experience an unforgettable one! They were very personable, knowledgeable and wonderful hosts. The food was exceptional and the accommodations were clean, comfortable and cleverly themed. It was the perfect setting for our occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Chuckwagon Inn for our wedding anniversary. We were not so impressed with the Bollinger Cabin. There were do many little signs all around the cabin with all type of restrictions, that we felt kind of walking on eggshells. The breakfast was not bad, i had better. Also when we arrived, I found hair all over in the bed conforter. Also Sam talks more than I can handle. He seems to be more interested in what he has to say than what other guest has to share.

I think that a good way to welcome their guest should be with homemade cookies in their cabins and they should also stack up their kitchenette with teas, cocoa etc.

This place was OK, but I would like to try other b&b in the Fredericksburg area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjsyouens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebeccabhiggins, Owner at Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear rjsyouens,
Sam and I are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the Bolinger Cabin. We want all of our guests to have a pleasant experience and their views are very important to us. Sam does like to talk. Our daughter gave him an apron that says,"everyone is entitled to my opinion", and he should have had it on that morning.
Sincerely,
Sam and Becky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent breakfasts at this B&B! Quite possibly the best biscuits we have ever had. Friendly and very accomodating hosts, Sam and Becky, and interesting guests made our stay delightful. we stayed in Miss Becky's Kitchen, a cute little 2-story with the livingroom, kitchen areas downstairs and the bedroom, bath upstairs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huffyjp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from February 15-17th. Once we arrived, we were greeted by Sam, a friendly face I'll never forget! He made sure to ask us if we had any food allergies for the breakfast feast that awaited us the next day. We stayed in Larry Bill's room and it was very inviting and had a rustic, country vibe. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The room also had a deck area in which you could relax and enjoy a bottle of wine. The breakfast on our first morning was most excellent. We got to visit with both Sam and Becky and our fellow guests at a large dinner table. They have traveled all over the world and we really enjoyed hearing the stories they shared. The breakfast on our 2nd day of homemade biscuits, gravy, pork sausage, frittata, and orange juice was the best breakfast I've ever had. This is a true gem and my definition of what a B&B should be like!!!

Sam and Becky are by far the most hospitable owners we've met at all of our B&B's we've stayed at and really enjoyed getting to know them. I would highly recommend staying here. We would definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetoTravelHDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

When there was an opening for the Pear Tree Cottage at the Chuckwagon Inn on New Year's Eve, we took it! Call it fate, but this was exactly what we needed. A little R&R in the Texas Hill Country. The Chuckwagon Inn is only a few minutes off of Main Street in Fredericksburg and well worth the drive. Our cottage was the cutest place I've ever stayed in and everything was in theme with Pears! The room was spotless and had a fireplace that was exactly what we needed on a drizzly, cold weekend in Fredericksburg. The Christmas tree and mantel decorations added to the cozy feel. When I researched this particular B&B, I found that Sam & Becky had been featured in several Texas magazines and had written a few cookbooks, so I was excited to taste their cooking. Boy, did they deliver. You don't leave hungry, that's for sure. We really enjoyed Becky & Sam's company as well as the other couples we met at the breakfast table. They also had great recommendations for restaurants and bars if you're new to town. We will definitely stay at the Chuckwagon Inn the next time we're planning a relaxing trip to Fredericksburg!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
869 reviews
3 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
968 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#5 of 82 in Fredericksburg
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 82 in Fredericksburg
155 reviews
8.9 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#10 of 82 in Fredericksburg
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1156 Fm 2093, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chuckwagon Inn is an historic property on 5 1/2 acres only 2 miles from downtown Main St. The inn has 5 separate guest quarters including an 1850's log cabin, all of which have been beautifuly restored. Our rooms feature fireplaces, king beds and whirlpool tubs with showers and we serve a made from scratch full country breakfast each morning in the dining room of our 1854 stone house which is across the drive from the cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing