We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveler rating
679
19
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
679
19
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbecky's kitchenbollinger cabinchuck wagonmustang bunkhousepear tree cottagebecky sammiss beckythe cantinagreat storiesmy husband and ihomemade biscuits and gravydairy farmgreat hostsother guestseach morninggreat conversationfrittata
Filter
Updating list...
665 - 670 of 705 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chuckwagon Inn the weekend after Thanksgiving and are planning to go back in March. The breakfast is deliciously homemade and the company can't be beat. Sam and Becky truly care about their guests and you leave feeling like family! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NogginAndMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Chuckwagon Inn for our four year anniversary and it was wonderful!! From the minute I called to make the reservation, Becky was warm and helpful. We stayed in Larry Bill's Chuckwagon and, as Becky promised, we loved it. Everything was clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated and the breakfast was phenomenal! Our favorite- Sam's homemade buttermilk biscuits and gravy. He only makes them on Sunday- so make sure to include that day in your reservation!!

Besides the Chuckwagon Inn, we loved Fredericksburg. In just two days we were able to climb to the top of Enchanted Rock, visit several wineries, go to town, have some good German beer and food AND visit Luckenbach. The perfect romantic weekend getaway!

Room Tip: If you want a country feel- pick Larry Bill's Chuckwagon.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a place in the hill country between Christmas 2011 and New Years where we could totally relax and get away from the big city life. We found it at The Chuckwagon Inn. It's located close enough to downtown Fredricksburg to enjoy the shops yet far enough out that you feel like you're out in the country. Sam and Becky were the best. You'll have to ask them their backgrounds. You'll also want to take them up on their happy hour at the cantina. We really enjoyed hanging out for a drink (or two) prior to going in town for dinner. You'll appreciate the love and attention they both give to the quality of breakfast. We hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Room Tip: If possible, you'll want to request the log cabin.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have stayed in many B&B's over the years, but our stay at the Chuckwagon Inn ranks at the top of the list! We visited during the New Year's weekend, and we couldn't have picked a more wonderful place to spend the holiday. Hosts Sam and Becky Higgins are masters at providing guests with exactly what's needed for an unforgettable stay - comfortable and lovely accommodations, delicious homemade breakfasts, great advice about food and fun in the Fredericksburg area, and their unique style of making you feel instantly "at home!" The Inn is only 3 miles from the center of downtown, but feels like miles away......the beauty of the Hill Country is right outside your door. Sam and Becky have thought of everything to make the experience special for each guest, and if you're interested in some great stories and some real
"down home" Texas hospitality, sit with Sam in the cantina in the evening and visit awhile!
We will be back.....can't wait till the next time! Thanks, Sam and Becky,,,what a great way to start a New Year!
Mary and Carroll

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pear Tree Cottage - it was a beautiful room - perfect for two!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

65My boyfriend and I went on our first roadtrip as a couple up to Fredericksburg for a romantic weekend after thanksgiving. This was our first B&B. The Chuckwagon Inn was an INCREDIBLE outting to get more acquainted with each other and also have new experiences in the Texas Hill Country. Our hosts, Sam and Becky are truly amazing people and their "country breakfasts" were delicious! We WILL be returning as soon as we can and have made a decision that we will ONLY stay with Sam, Becky, Paco and Elton! -Matt & Amy

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afmarti02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews