We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem ! So different ! Best value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Road Ranch Resort
Ranked #48 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have stayed here last 3 years . We have discovered the hill country here ! We highly recommend if you need room to stretch , campfire at night , romantic views , unique and awesome ranch ! The bunkhouse is perfect for two couples and their kids or family reunion. . There is two other places to stay on property If a couple . Smitty makes the stay such a pleasure . He and his ranchhands will assist you , start fires, provide smores and more . I really cannot say too much more except book it and relax and enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2vacation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

This seriously is the best place in Texas to visit. They have wonderful animals that are so sweet. Boots the dog is such a great tour guide and protector. It really was the best trip ever. We will be back and are thinkiing about having our wedding there.

Room Tip: The Bunkhouse is that best I think!! However, for 2 people the Silo looked very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank katiequinn918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

3 generations of our family spent two nights at this wonderful ranch right outside of Fredericksburg. We occupied the Bunkhouse and the Silo. The kids, aged 7, 8 and 11 roamed the ranch and checked out all the “old-timey” stuff. They were followed everywhere by the loving and always-watchful ranch dog, Boots. They fed the horses, petted the goats and Boots shooed away the pesky turkeys whenever they got too close. In the evening, the kids made s’mores in the fire pit while the adults enjoyed beverages and watched the beautiful Hill Country sunset from the front porch of the bunkhouse. Accommodations were clean, charming and rustic (and that’s not code for anything). It was great! Breakfast was more than adequate with coffee, milk, juice, eggs and toast galore. We wish we could have extended another night, but unfortunately, our son, who had been somewhat sick for the entire time, tossed his cookies on the bed in the middle of the night and we decided we just needed to go back home. TMI, I know, but when I called the owners in the morning to inform them and to apologize, they were totally gracious and understanding. We will definitely be back. We have stayed at various B & B’s in/around Fredericksburg about 6 or 7 times in the last decade and this place is tops for families with kids, multi-generational trips, and girls/guys weekend getaways.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLTinTandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My wife and I took our two boys ages 9 and 13 on an 11 day trip to Texas (Dallas, San Antonio and a wedding in Austin) and we read about the River Road Ranch Resort on Trip Advisor and it looked very good. But it completely exceeded our expectations!!! both of our boys loved it there and our 9 year old said that was his favorite place to stay.

there are all kinds of friendly animals on the farm (sheep, funny Turkeys, the smartest sweetest dog who will sleep in your room if you want, steers, llamas, chickens, goats--including a newborn that was a huge hit, birds, etc). There is a 4 wheeler golf cart vehicle to roam the farm and to go down to the small river and canoe, fish or swim. There was a lot to do, including just relaxing. It is very close to town and the Enchanted Rock, which is worth a drive or hike. The Pacific War Musuem is very interesting and kept the boys' attention very well.

We stayed in The Bunk House, which is very spacious (2 br and 2 baths, a large living room, kitchen, tv area). the Silo was incredibly unique--it is a Silo and there is the Feed Mill which is a very nice one bedroom.

There are smores at night and even in 100 degree heat, it seemed to always have a cool breeze.

the owners are very nice and helpful. If you have kids stay here, you will love it!!! It is convenient to Fredericksburg which really closes up shop at 8:00, so it is perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MartyHuntsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I reserved the Bunkhouse for a special weekend getaway with my family of 5 and parents-in-law. From the moment we arrived my 3 kids were intrigued by everything they saw. Animals, antiques, clever decor, fire pit.. The list goes on and on. Our group ranged in age from 3 to 72 years old and each of us had a memorable, relaxing, amazing time. Easy access to the Main St- and Enchanted Rock & vineyards were a short drive away. Highly recommend for an unforgettable family vacation. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This place is awesome! We're a family ages 22-60 and stayed one night there and it felt like we got away for much longer! How the ranch is set up is like heaven....so creative, full of life (animals and generations past) ...the ranch was very inspiring to me. I am just in awe of how cool it is....like another reviewer I don't want to reveal what staying there is entirely like because the surprises and details were so amazing to find out. Start to finish it was fun for everyone. Not just a cool b&b.....5 minutes from main street, worlds away from anywhere else. Smitty also has so many plans for the future of the ranch and I have no doubt that anything he does will be amazing and true to the land. Also only about 20 minutes from Enchanted Rock.

Room Tip: Rates very reasonable; owners very accomodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slumpnbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The River Road Ranch was one of the highlights of our Texas driving vacation ! We traveled from Houston , through San Antonio to Fredericksburg based on advise from Trip Advisor. We had our 3 boys, ages 16 - 10 with us. The River Road Ranch was a fantastic destination ! Smitty , the proprietor was extremely hospitable and generous. He greeted us with a big smile and let the boys enjoy the four runners, we played in the river and kayaked; the whole while we were befriended by "Boots" the friendliest labrador in Texas. The sheep, turkey and goats were all a new adventure for us. Our son even found an abandoned baby goat in a bucket and Smitty rescued him and let our son name him "Bucket" . After attending a very funny show at the "Rockbox" in town, we returned and Smitty had a fire going for us to make smores. It was wonderful and we recommend the River Road Ranch very highly.

Room Tip: The Silo is a unique experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dckarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#14 of 25 in Fredericksburg
86 reviews
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
7.7 mi away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#13 of 82 in Fredericksburg
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
All Seasons Tanglewood Farms
All Seasons Tanglewood Farms
#43 of 82 in Fredericksburg
14 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rock House Hideaway
Rock House Hideaway
#56 of 82 in Fredericksburg
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rocking Ox Gastehaus
Rocking Ox Gastehaus
#55 of 82 in Fredericksburg
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Road Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Ranch Resort

Address: 160 Glad Heart Trl, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-5351
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $208 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River Road Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Road Ranch Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing