We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and budget friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hondo, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice and budget friendly”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the inn. We were able to get two rooms for the price of one at other hotels, which was nice for our adult and almost adult sons and mom and dad too. Nice, comfortable, quiet and VERY clean. Have paid two to three times as much for a room where there were stains on the carpet and mold in the tub enclosure. Not here! Everything was nice and clean. Towels were softer than other hotels and had plenty of them! Usually have to ask for extra towels. Only one minor issue-the water pressure in tub wasn't great. Reported it, owner said they would look into it. Would definitely stay here again! Would love to stay in the cottages sometime too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    159
    39
    12
    15
See reviews for
229
364
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My wife, daughter, and I spent 2 wonderful night at the Country Inn & Cottages. We loved the rustic feel of the cottage while enjoying all of the modern amenities that you would need. Everything was clean and comfortable. An added plus were the elk that are cared for on the premises. They provided an interesting viewing experience.

The only drawback is if you want to stay in town and be able to walk everywhere, then the Country Inn & Cottages is not the place for you. The cottages are located about a 10 minute drive from Main St.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

What wonderful hosts Jeff & Amy Mazurek are at The Country Inn & Cottages to travelers & visitors to Fredericksburg, in the heart of the Texas Hill Country and a mecca for cyclists. The motel rooms are comfortable, clean and very reasonable. The cottages are extraordinarily designed and accomodating with many anemnities, set in a natural ranch environment. But, the real attachment comes from the friendly atmosphere down through the staff. Arrive as strangers leave as friends.

Room Tip: ask for what you prefer
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukeindbq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

What a wonderfully intimate location to spend a few days in the Hill Country! My wife and I came to see Fredericksburg during the Christmas holidays. This property is close enough to town to visit easily, but far enough out to see the stars at night. Beautifully finished stone cottages with expansive views of the hill country are good enough reasons to return. The meal vouchers introduced us to local restaurants that we have missed in the past. The wine tour, led by David Hughes, was not only enlightening, but a heck of a lot of fun! We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Caney, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We happened upon this place after a terrible experience at another motel in town. The staff here was very friendly and accomodating, clean room, quiet surroundings, bed was WONDERFUL, an overall great place to stay. Would recommend to friends/family and will definately stay here next trip to Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend stay in Cottage 29. From the welcome email and personal phone call, to the immaculate cottage, we were 100% happy. Our 3 year old granddaughter loved seeing all the "reindeer" on the property. We will definitely be returning for another visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We love this place, we visited originally in August 2007 and it was about half built out and it was already amazing then; they've added so much cool stuff since then. So glad we found this place. Its kind of in town, but far enough to feel like you are out in the woods. The rates are fair for what you get. Fireplaces are awesome; it was below freezing when we were there so the fire was great to have. Wildlife watching is excellent, they have lots of deer and elk on the property. There were 2 elk male elk fighting it out most of the first evening we were there in the field adjacent, it was pretty impressive. Amenities are good, glad they have added wifi. If you are shopping around for a cool rustic place to stay in Fredericksburg look no further.

Room Tip: book in advanced to get a standalone cottage, but the dog trot rooms are awesome too
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
4.0 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#7 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1644 W US Highway 290, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-6636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel located 1 mile from downtown, cottages 4.3 miles from downtown, pet friendly, pool, jacuzzi tubs, motel offers 21 units, cottages offer 22 units, group rates, weddings and reunions, cottages on 200 acre ranch w/ wildlife including elk, deer, turkey and peacock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Cottages Hotel Fredericksburg
Country Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing