We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay close to Fredericksburg but relaxed and peaceful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
215 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place to stay close to Fredericksburg but relaxed and peaceful!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in cottage number 29 at Country Inn and Cottages. The Cottage was clean and lovely and the beds were wonderfully comfortable. We loved sitting on the front porch watching the deer, elk, squirrels, etc. We were only a couple miles outside of Fredericksburg but it seemed a world away from the hustle and bustle. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    162
    39
    12
    15
See reviews for
233
368
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in cottage 26 during our 2 night stay in the hill country. I do a lot of research on reviews, locations & amenities when searching for new places. This could not have been a better place to stay! 2 Bedrooms & a really nice size bathroom. Every amenity (except the pool which was not an issue for us). Our neighbors, the wandering deer, added to the scenery and peace outside the front door. My boys & I loved the beds. However, my husband's back ached a bit. They were almost too soft & could be an issue for some people. I was expecting to see ants/bugs or tiny critters inside but nope! A/c was wonderful! We would definitely go back & I'm already recommending the cottages to my friends. Great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were extremely clean, the bed were very comfortable, the a/c was cold, and the staff was outstanding. I will definitely be back. My now favorite Hill Country place to stay for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCT4383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Country Inn and Cottages are an awesome place to stay. My husband I got away for the weekend and we were very pleased with our cottage accommodations, wildlife, and how quiet it was. We stayed in Cottage 23 and we watched deer every morning/evening and the elk were just beautiful. Everyone was friendly and we most definitely will go back. It is about 5 miles from town, but it is well worth the drive to get there. If you like rustic/western accommodations this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed at the Country Inn motel location for a recent trip with my husband and teenage son. It was very nice, great deal for the money. Just a few (driving) minutes from the center of town. Stayed in room 121, clean, nice room with 2 queen beds, TV worked fine, nice shower, bathroom area. Grounds were nice and clean, the pool was perfect, we went each evening for about an hour. Had ample tables, lounge chairs available. It was definitely worth what we paid, averaged with tax around $90.00 per night. Had coffee, juice and muffins, sweet breads available in the morning for a snack on Saturday and Sunday, ice machine (didn't use), vending machine across parking lot, inn keepers were friendly and welcoming.
All in all a very nice visit, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha_from_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
326 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is my idea of a "cabin"...king bed, rain shower, satelite TV, and A/C. We were just there for an overnight and stayed in Cottage #28. We picked up the keys at the motel in town and headed out to the property - which is in a very "rustic" setting. Perhaps the owners could pick up or landscape the place just a bit. There does seem to be quite a bit of construction junk and general ranch "stuff" laying around. But, it's a fun property. The stand-alone cottages are great and each have their own porch with rocking chairs. The inside has flat-screen TV, wood fireplace (for MUCH cooler weather), mircrowave and small fridge, A/C that worked great, and a VERY soft king-sized bed. I have seen other reviewers who loved these beds and you can even order them online. But, they were pretty soft for our taste. The bathroom has granite counter tops, a huge Jacuzzi tub, rain shower, and LOTS of fluffy towels. We had stopped at a winery and the cottage had wine glasses waiting for us and I was able to borrrow a corkscrew at the office. My only suggestions for creature comforts it was lacking are hangers (not a single one in either closet), ceramic coffee mugs, and hand towels. We had bath towels and face rags...but no hand towels. Perhaps just an oversite this one particular day. The property has elk penned along one side and while we were there could sit out on our porch and watch them. Near dusk, about 20 deer came up to feed and drink. Plus,l a peacock came wandering through. It was neat to see the animals.
We really liked our visit and would recommend it to others. It is very reasaonably priced. However, I feel the whole place suffers from a lack of identity. The cottages, to me, feel like they could be more of a "rustic luxury" resort...with a few changes. They need a place to have breakfast on site. And, an office on-site with someone to assist with any problems or issues. I also think they could pick up the common grounds just a bit. Then, it would truly be a wonder! This would be a great place for a family reunion and the new events center really looks neat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zamigaos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We recently returned to the Country Inn and Cottages, this establishment has a Inn (motel) from say the 60's maybe that has been redone in town in country charm. We have stayed both times out at their cottages about 3-5 miles from town. It was a beautiful short drive, after picking up our keys up at the Inn in town. The cottages are located on 200 private acres, with many styles and room sizes for your stay. There is a pool and two hot tubs on the property, but the pool is rather small for the amount of rooms they have. We could not visit the pool one evening, some adults that had been drinking a little too much were loud and talking, not wanting our 12 year old to hear their conservations. That was a bummer... The cottages are beautiful...... we stayed in cottage #21, so nice - outside our cottage were the Elk ... Two bucks with beautiful HUGE antlers, the owner feeds them right in front of the cottages so they gather there about 4:00pm till morning and she also fed the wild deer - there were no less than 100 deer outside our cottages bedded down for the night. Awesome to take a flashlight and look at them and all their eyes in the dark. They were not tame, if you started walking towards them, off they ran. The king size bed was very comfortable, our ceiling fan was remote - our batteries were out in it and even after telling them not to bother the owner still came from home to replace them for us. The furniture is leather and heavy country table and chairs - two willow twisted rocking chairs on the porch to enjoy the beautiful countryside. You are allowed to walk around the 200 acres and enjoy the beautiful countryside. The property contains old barns and very old farming equipment along with a nice old windmill. You are given $6.00 per person staying to several breakfast or bakeries in town for each morning. There is ice and vending machines available along with coffee in your cottage. You don't have to return your keys to town, just drop them in a box by the ice machine. This is very worth the stay especially if you have children and not far of a drive to Enchanted Rock. We really enjoyed the cottages instead of a hotel after a day of shopping, visiting the Enchanted Rock and of course you can't miss the Bat Emergence at the old Train Tunnell...I recommend Country Inn and Cottages for a romantic getaway or with the family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathhawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
4.1 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
830 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
425 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 80 in Fredericksburg
432 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 80 in Fredericksburg
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1644 W US Highway 290, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-6636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel located 1 mile from downtown, cottages 4.3 miles from downtown, pet friendly, pool, jacuzzi tubs, motel offers 21 units, cottages offer 22 units, group rates, weddings and reunions, cottages on 200 acre ranch w/ wildlife including elk, deer, turkey and peacock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Cottages Hotel Fredericksburg
Country Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing