We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Country Cottages!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Country Cottages!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place was one of our best finds ever! The setting was beautiful and only minutes from town. Loved the elk family right our back and the great fire pit. Our room was lovely with lots of handmade details. It was truly Texan without being kitsch or B&B fru-fru. Lots of great touches in the details. The large bottles of bath products were really good quality and I wish that I had bought some of the amazing honey and lemongrass lotion at the office on my way out of town. The price was very reasonable, too! We'll definitely go again. It works great for a romantic weekend and would also be a really good place to go with a bunch of friends or family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    159
    39
    12
    15
See reviews for
229
363
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had a great time in Fredericksburg and The Country & Cottages are great!! We started to stay close to all the shopping and restaurants but instead we decided to stay at one of the cottages.......and we were so happy we did!! It's only about 10 min from Main Street! It was absolutely beautiful!! Deffientally going back!!!!

Room Tip: All the cabins have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was so very friendly and gave us excellent restaurant suggestions. The price was excellent. It was so nice and quiet and I truly felt if we needed anything we could have contacted the desk and they would have done their best to provide. We love to come to Fredericksburg. We may try the cottages next!

Room Tip: Rooms are small but still very comfortable. Low noise too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our little cottage on the ranch was FABULOUS! We loved the wildlife! We had a very relaxing time touring the local wineries and restaurants. The Rockbox Theater was fabulous. This was a very special trip for us because we brought our aunt and uncle who had not been to Fredericksburg in a very long time. The Country Inn and Cottages was the icing on the cake so to speak!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Country Inn & Cottages are two different properties. This review only covers the motel. The motel is located a bit outside of Fredericksburg going west on 290. This is an older motel which has had a recent make over. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and decorated in a rustic style. The pool is much smaller than it appears on the website. The pool may be bigger at the Cottages. You pay 5 dollars extra for a coffee maker. The clock radio did not work. They did give us an early wake up call. If you are going to Enchanted Rock you need to arrive by 7 am. Texas is hotter than hell. A great place to see.

The problem with the room was the shower. A 2X2 foot shower might work for a hobbit. The shower also had long pipe coming out of the wall this made rinsing off very tough. On check out we learned not all the rooms have the tiny shower. The price was about $100 for two people. Quiet and clean but the shower was terrible. Check the shower before you agree to the room.

Room Tip: Stay away from the highway and ask for a large bathroom. Do not accept the small shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratdog405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We traveled with our two kids (10 & 12) and our 2 small dogs. The place was great. Close to town but a quiet country feel. The stars were amazing. Deer came right up to our door. The accommodations were clean, homey and very comfortable. We will definitely return and bring our road bikes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dauphin Island, AL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We tried out the Country Inn & Cottages not knowing what to expect. The risk paid off. The cabins were at the edge of town behind a gate with a code. We felt safe and the wildlife walking freely was astonishing. We took lots of photos. The cabin was clean and the decor was impressive. We were a little disappointed that the tub's water only came out hot. But by the time we filled up the large whirlpool tub, the hot water ran cold and it evened out the temperature overall. We just didn't try a shower. The AC was complicated and never got below 77 (probably human error on our part) so we were warm. The TV was even more complicated and after searching channels the first time, it went out completely (again probably due to human error on our part of not knowing how to work the electronics). All in all, we will definitely be back to this unique and wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
4.0 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#7 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1644 W US Highway 290, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-6636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel located 1 mile from downtown, cottages 4.3 miles from downtown, pet friendly, pool, jacuzzi tubs, motel offers 21 units, cottages offer 22 units, group rates, weddings and reunions, cottages on 200 acre ranch w/ wildlife including elk, deer, turkey and peacock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Cottages Hotel Fredericksburg
Country Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing