We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, peaceful place to get away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hurst, Texas
1 review
“Relaxing, peaceful place to get away.”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I have enjoyed visiting Fredericksburg over the past 20+ years. Several years ago our neighbors told us about the Country Inn & Cottages. The first few times we tried to make reservations, it was already full. Since then we have stayed at the Country Cottages several times. Each time we have been more than pleased with the surroundings and the owners. This past week we took my mother there to celebrate her 90th birthday. We all enjoyed watching the deer and elk as we sat outside drinking coffee in the morning and sharing a bottle of wine in the evening. We are definitely looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We are anxious to try the newer cottages. This time we wanted a room with a separate shower, so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    159
    39
    12
    15
See reviews for
229
363
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Excellent - No other words can explain it. Beautiful place, nice clean cottages, peaceful, even the deer like it here!

Room Tip: All cottages are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My Husband and I were surprised the Motel Rooms were not in same location as the Cottages. We were looking forward to country quiet and being able to set outside and watch the wild life as the ad had us to believe. Other than that the room was so cute and very clean, and the bed was so comfy. We slept great. We were given per request the room at the end. It was quiet and we liked that. The only problem with that room was the shower. Water pressure was great but shower stall was so tiny you could barely wash your hair unless you stood sideways. You better not drop your soap or anything cause you have to step out of shower to pick it up. The room was great for the wonderful price and it enabled us to spend more money on other things. I do recommend this Motel and we would stay again. Amy was so sweet upon check in and very helpful and friendly the whole time of our stay. Thanks for a Wonderful Stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 753Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Spur of the moment trip after attending a wedding in Austin. Checked online and took a chance, the motel was just outside of the main street and a super place to stay. Great staff and very clean rooms and especially the bathrooms. Its like going back in time to my childhood to those mom and pop hotels. Pool was clean and inviting, will definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: all rooms seemed equal in quality and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legalleggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We spent the week end of Mother's Day at the cottages and had a great time. The cottages are rustic looking but have all the nice things you would expect in a full service hotel. The room was confortable for the two of us, with a nice shower/tub and mini kitchen with fridge and microwave. The location makes the place worth the price. Extra quiet even with a full house, including kids, and the stars are really bright in this part of Texas. In additon you can watch the deer feeding and elk in their pasture and even one old peacock to sound the alarm sometimes. The dog trot cabin we used was clean and the days went by too fast. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: The dog trot cabins are attached in pairs but quiet. The single buidings give a bit more private spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was the perfect spot for our big group of 15. Cottage Number 5 is huge with a big kitchen and living room. We rented the cottages all around us and it was just perfect. Huge king size bed, very clean and quaint...and very affordable. We had the hot tub and a huge fire pit to ourselves. We grilled out and the stars were beautiful! Perfect location.. very close to town and the wineries @10 min, but still in the hill country...deer and elk everywhere! The staff recommended stagecoach shuttle service...which was also a great find. We used this shuttle/cab service to dinner and to the wineries and it was a fraction of the cost of the expensive wine tour shuttles.I would highly recommend this spot to families or big groups...it was perfect!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The cottages are not in town with the motel. The cottages are about 6 miles out of town. We loved them. Cottages were on 200 acres with deer and elk. The deer come out at dusk and it's an awesome sight. Cottages are clean and very well maintained. I love this place!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasChikinPunkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
4.0 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#7 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1644 W US Highway 290, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-6636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel located 1 mile from downtown, cottages 4.3 miles from downtown, pet friendly, pool, jacuzzi tubs, motel offers 21 units, cottages offer 22 units, group rates, weddings and reunions, cottages on 200 acre ranch w/ wildlife including elk, deer, turkey and peacock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Cottages Hotel Fredericksburg
Country Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing