We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting and wonderful”

Enchanted Rock Cave
Ranked #24 of 106 things to do in Fredericksburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An interesting cave located within the Enchanted Rock State Natural Area.
Victoria, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Enchanting and wonderful”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Take plenty of Water and real good Hiking shoes. This site is worth the trip.for all ages. My legs were tired but a person gets over it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Uncle-AL-and-Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enchanted Rock cave”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We took our four children ages 7, 8, 10 and 16 through the cave. Be prepared with good shoes, head lamps and lots of water. Some of us didn't have the best shoes, and only my husband had a headlamp. We held onto our flashlights, but as a mom is was difficult for me not being able to see all the children and not knowing what was ahead. Even our 16 year old daughter needed help in places, so that left us telling the little ones to be still and not move until we got back to them. Of course, they didn't always listen. If you have claustrophobia, it's better not to enter the cave as it's very tight maneuvering in some places and the progression is fairly slow. If you lose your light, it's completely dark, and there are only chalk arrows telling you which way to go. FOLLOW THE ARROWS!! Once we came out of the cave, we were on the back of the "mountain", so it was quite a hike getting back. It was a nice hike, but we were already tired and dirty. Good fun, just be prepared!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank LON7168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentine, TX
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Enjoy the view, skip the cave”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed walking up the rock, but I'd skip the cave unless you are prepared. You would need a light and possibly a guide as there aren't any trail markers once in the cave. The cave has lots of tight spots and could be difficult for some people. We went in February and it was about 65 degrees outside, but the entrance to the cave and the cave itself were icy making it very slippery and difficult to maneuver.

If you go in the summer and are prepare though, it would probably be a lot of fun.

Helpful?
3 Thank S618VTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We climbed to the summit and experienced breath taking views, explored the caves and ran the trails. The park rangers were super nice and helpful, can't wait to go again!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
522 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Fun outing for the whole family”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a wonderful park and although the 'hike up' to the top of the rock does not look difficult from below...it is a little bit of a work out. Taking time to appreciate the views makes the hike up quite manageable. The caves at the top are fun exploration for the kids and those adults looking for just a little more activity and excitement. A really good place to spend a few hours or more with friends and family.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MGordonCharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enchanted Rock Cave also viewed

 

Been to Enchanted Rock Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing