We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved this place”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Fredericksburg, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deedrahsu...
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

It was a beautiful oasis. Less than 10 min from town. But while we were there we saw deer, turkey, chickens, and hummingbirds. It was a cute place to stay all comforts of home, plus my dog loved it. Bring your own detergent & dryer sheets. Internet not very good, but that wasn't important to us. Great place we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RemiandCo
Galveston, Texas
2 reviews
“Just loved it”
Reviewed December 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed just before Thanksgiving. Just far enough out to feel the quiet. But close enough to hop into town for food.

Also quick and easy trip to Enchanted Rock for a hike.

Beautiful, clean and quaint. Comfortable beds.

Every little thing was thought of by our hosts.
Food/snacks on our arrival.
Dishes for our dog.
The heat on. (it was ccccold!)

We absolutely loved our stay.

Would love to come back next year.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl S
Pasadena, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“So much more than a hotel room!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Charming little house outside of town; only 6 miles from Main Street but felt like you were way out in the country. Decorated in that shabby chic way that I love; plenty of room. Owner had left some yummy cinnamon rolls, cereal, milk, juice, bananas for breakfast. Nice and quiet..Lots of visitors: goats and a horse out back; fun watching the chickens and guineas run around,,and the beautiful deer roaming through. Had fun playing with the pups our last morning. Only negative: our stay was not long enough. Looking forward to returning for a girls weekend sometime soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So much more than expected, especially for the price.
Liked least: Could use a little WD40 on the back door.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DwightS
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A little off the beaten path but was a wonderful location. The owners were extremely nice and welcomed us with open arms. The place is nicely kept and maintained. My wife and I loved this place and the friends we traveled with were very happy and planned on return trips. We would recommend this place to anyone wishing a pleasant quiet location with plenty of hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet and home feeling
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hippiechi...
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh eggs, fresh air and fresh apple strudel ♡”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

From the minute we arrived my husband, puppy and I knew we found the right place. The owners kindly let us check in early then brought a dozen fresh eggs, had a homeade apple strudel on the counter and a box of Valentine candy! Their kindness was welcome for our 20th Valentine's Day together. The fresh air, comfortable bed, whimsical decor was all an added bonus.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry vermont
Reviewed June 27, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OD53
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Excellent location and soooo quiet”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We rented for a week through Gasthaus Schmidt Reservation Service and were told to pick up the key in town at 231 W Main St. after 2 p.m. But when we arrived at noon the nice lady on the desk phoned to check if the place was ready for us; it was so, she gave us the key early.
Pluses: The cottage is large and has everything including dishwasher, Maytag washer and dryer, and full sized fridge and full stove with oven. The appliances are all new. The fridge held a dozen eggs (from their own hens), bacon, milk and other food (enough for lunch the next day).The owner Lisa had left a delicious coffee cake on the counter as well. The location is wonderfully quiet ( except for the rooster which crowed occasionally) and we slept well in the very comfy bed. No rattling heating or A/C units to disturb us.
Our hosts lived next door and were there if we needed them but didn't interfere. We had a nice time here, and felt like it was like our own home. Our Westie pup was very interested in the free range chickens, the donkey, the goats and the horse that trotted to the fence (obviously accustomed to being fed by guests!) to greet us when we went outside.
The day before we left Lisa came over with a whole apple pie for us! Delicious. We told her that we had to put all of her low knick-knacks up high to keep them away from our pup, and rearranged the furniture, and she was absolutely fine with it - she said people with little kids do the same.
Minuses: The Wi-Fi sign is very weak and kept dropping out. We just gave up on it. Marshall Creek Road is a bit hard to find, the sign is on a red background and hard to see because obscured by trees as you come along the highway. And watch out for the huge "sleeping policemen" on Marshall Creek Road - we hit them with the bottom of our car. The main caution however is that the owners are a nice family but obviously busy with their jobs, family and farm. The place needs a good "spring cleaning". I spent an afternoon cleaning ( they provide old towels for the purpose): glasses, dishes, coffee pot, all needed washing before use. Appliances needed to be wiped down - front of fridge, stove, dishwasher, washer and dryer . The small carpets were full of dirt.The light switches were sticky. The shelf liners in the kitchen are grimy and need replacing. The place is nice but obviously has only had a superficial cleaning for some time.Despite this, the cottage is so great that I gave it a top rating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful quiet.
Liked least: Having to clean when we arrived.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing