We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced mediocre meal” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winslow's Restaurant - CLOSED

Winslow's Restaurant
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced mediocre meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stopped here starving after hiking Enchanted Rock. I had the Rueben and my boyfriend had a Turkey/Spinach wrap. While the flavor was good, usually Rueben's are loaded with pastrami, this one had 2 thin slices. The same for the wrap...very little meat. And each was around $10 for lunch!

The service was good and while the place was a little dingy I don't know if I would say it was dirty as others mentioned. Definitely could use a little renovating though.

Wish we had walked around Fredericksburg a bit before stopping here as we saw several nicer and cheaper places after.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    24
    21
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Keep walking.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Sign says voted best burger, and my wife and I split it, and it was good, just not best, not 11.95 worth. Restaurant is dirty, not cleaned well, and service is that of a take it or leave it feel. Walk on.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowtiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DON'T DO IT!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband, son, and I are here for lunch and I really regret it. Overpriced, overrated, UNDERclean!! Our appetizer came out AFTER we had finished our mediocre meals. Lipstick covered cups, argumentative and rude waitress. She got my order wrong and then argued with me about it until she realized HER mistake making a scene in front of everyone! Then was rude that we didn't finish our LATE appetizer. Never apologized. Then one staff member yelled at customers telling them to leave because they were closing. How rude and embarrassing. Not once did we see anyone who resembled management. I will NEVER go back and I STRONGLY suggest you spend your money elsewhere that is worth it as this place is NOT!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajturner813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
1 review
“Awful food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We ate here because it was close to our activities at Marketplatz. Although I have lived here for over 40 years, I had never eaten here. We were so disappointed. The reuben was terrible, the German potatoes were the worst I ever had. My husband's veggies looked and tasted like they came straight out of the freezer...completely bland. Very over priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FritztownFraulein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, tx
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs help!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This place sure could use an investor, or at least an owner who cares.

Toilet "rocked" when sat on. Sink is so shallow that your hands touch the basin when getting water. Good luck getting refills from the THREE waiters that were on staff (serving 20+ tables).

Food is "passable", but if that was a 1/2 pound burger, than I'm a monkey's uncle. Buns were thick and good, but meat was skimpy.

Excellent location, but I will end up skipping this place next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trumpetguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winslow's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing