We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Entire Family Enjoyed the Rustic Ambience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Winnipeg, Canada
415
Reviewed February 14, 2006

Like previous comments, we never saw the owners, and just received email confirmation and instructions from Judy. However, they readily responded to email enquiries and were always friendly and informative. We didn't mind that, as we just had to go straight to your cabin - enjoy our stay - then pack up and leave when our visit was over.

We traveled with our children, two girls of 15 and 13 respectively. All of us (my wife, children and myself) loved the wonderful pioneer ambience of the cabin and the sense of seclusion the cabin offered us.

It will definately be our choice if we happen to be in Fredericksburg again.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 154 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2005

We rented two houses at Settler's Crossing in December 2005 for a weekend getaway. Specifically, we rented the Kuesenberger Cabin and the Bohl Log Cabin. I like to be as positive about possible, so the good points first:
1. The houses are quaint and interesting. You feel like a pioneer in some ways.
2. The 25 acre plot of land is nice and open.
3. The pastries they gave us in the mornings were tasty.
4. The location is not too far from Fredericksburg and is on the way from Austin.
5. The fireplaces are cozy.
6. You can bring your dog.

Now, the negative points, and unfortunately this list is longer -

1. The "hosts" are not really hosts at all. You won't see them except perhaps right before you leave. They have maids come around to pass out the pastries, but they don't appear to do much if any of the work themselves. Someone told us that they are trying to sell the operation, which would make sense based on our experience - they just don't seem interested in it.
2. There is little or no service included for what are really pretty darned steep prices. We paid an average of over $200/night per house for the three day weekend. For that, they did not clean up the tiny houses every day. In fact, there are signs in the houses asking that you clean up the dishes, etc., yourself. There is mention in the inn's literature that they do this to protect your privacy, but in fact the maids come in every day to drop off the pastries and empty the garbage, so privacy is not the issue. They just are a little cheap and disinterested i am afraid.
3. If you stay in the winter, be prepared because the houses are VERY drafty. You could feel cold air coming in and if you use the heat, it gets very dry and stifling. The bedding in winter is summer bedding (see below).
4. The bedding is completely inadequate for what should be a very high end hotel at the prices they charge. The mattresses were comfortable but indented and clearly heavily used. The blankets were the thin wool and quilt variety and there were only two of them per bed. Pictures of the hotel show comforters, etc., so be prepared - you need to bring your own. When we asked for more blankets we were provided with exactly two more thin wool blankets (one per bed). There was no follow up about whether we were comfortable.
5. There is a 21 day cancellation policy and they enforce it. This is their right, of course, but it is worth mentioning as a negative. We didn't use the small cabin for one night we had expected to use it (a Thursday) and we gave 3 days' notice that we could not be there, but despite a considerable investment with them for the weekend they made no offer of giving us a midweek night at another time for free or anything of the sort. Mr. Bland, the owner, seemed fairly practiced at his response when I asked him whether he'd help us out because we were not using that night - the response was that we could feel free to arrive early the next day. Since we had paid for the night, that was a no-brainer, of course.
6. I took a look at the airconditioning/furnice unit in one of the houses and it was clearly rather old - probably dating from about 1987 when the inn was opened. Word to the wise - if you go in summer and that unit dies, you're going to be uncomfortable. You might want to ask in advance whether they would refund your stay if that happened.
7. The "continental plus" breakfast was tasty, but after 3 days it was not satisfying to just eat sweet pastries and cereal. Not one piece of fruit was provided. That was shocking, really.
8. There was no shower in either cabin. The bathtubs in the cabins, though "jacuzzi" tubs, were too small for a full grown man to be very comfortable. Due to the design of the tub/splash, you're likely to spill a lot of water.

While we most likely will go to Fredericksburg again for a weekend away, we will be happy to try another place. There are other "bed and breakfast" type places in the area and perhaps some of them are run with more energy and attention to guests by the hosts. If not, Fredericksburg does not have much of a future when compared to other vacations that cost about as much.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kinneyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
311
Reviewed July 26, 2005

My husband and I stayed one night at the Kusenberger Log Cabin. It was a wonderful trip away from everything! The bed was very comfortable. Everything was so quiet! If you are looking for a romantic get away from everything, this is it. From the moment you drive up the winding driveway past the other authentic homes, you feel the stress melt away. It is wonderful that you never have to check in...everything is already set up for you. There are lots of animals...we saw a donkey, lots of deer and sheep, along with cows and horses in the distance. The continental breakfast muffins were fabulous. The refrigerator, sink, and coffee maker were very cleverly hidden in a cupboard. We were there in July, so we did not enjoy the fireplace, but I am sure it would be wonderful in the winter. We were very happy with the location...about an eight minute drive into Fredericksburg, but very close to a wonderful restaurant-August E's! The BBQ crepe appetizer is to die for! We hope you enjoy your stay here as much as we did.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2004

I would "highly" reccomend Bagg House at Settlers Crossing. We had a lovely time, and will always have great memories of this property. The host were awesome!! The house was filled with antiques and was very cozy. My son (4 yrs old at the time)loved the outdoor animals!! Thanks, Joy

6  Thank joygregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Austin, TX
147
Reviewed May 19, 2003

My girlfriend and I planned a nice trip to drive through the hill country, and spend an evening at Settlers Crossing. We made reservations with Judy (the owner) 5 days in advance. She charged my credit card for the amount of the room, and sent us confirmation in the mail. After a nice drive through the Hill Country, we arrived at Settlers Crossing to find a note stuck to our cabin door. The note informed us that the people staying previously wished to stay another evening, sorry, but we'll have to find another place to stay. Included was a receipt showing the charges credited back to my account. We went and spoke with Judy, and she had nothing to say other than "sorry". No attempt was made to contact us, nothing was done to help us find a place to stay, and nothing was done to make any ammends. At 6:30pm on Sunday in Fredricksburg, there's not much that's open to the public. We were able to find a place to stay, however it wasn't as nice as we would have liked, nor as relaxing. So, if you're looking to have a relxing weekend in Fredericksburg, dont bother making reservations with Settlers Crossing, you'll end up without a place to stay.

47  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedestes, Owner at Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2010

This horrible event happened in 2003. I purchased the property in 2008 and will assure anyone interested that this will never happen under the new ownership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilou34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
5.6 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
845 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
865 reviews
5.6 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 82 in Fredericksburg
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
439 reviews
8.1 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#4 of 82 in Fredericksburg
882 reviews
3.7 mi away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#14 of 82 in Fredericksburg
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast

Address: 104 Settlers Crossing Rd, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7451
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: $135 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Bed and Breakfast offers guest houses with history. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Settlers Crossing b&b
Settlers Crossing Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing