We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Place in Texas!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Conroe, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Favorite Place in Texas!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've been going to this beautiful place for many years & plan to continue going for years to come. If you want some peace & quiet while enjoying nature at its best, this is the place for you! David & Melissa Estes live right on the property of 35 acres & are available if needed. Upon our arrival, our TV wasn't working so David immediately hopped off his tractor to come over to help us. There are 7 very different historic houses, but our favorite is still The Baag House. Sitting on the front porch watching the deer at their feeder was our favorite thing to do. Also, our walks around the property were always filled with sights of various animals. Lastly, its location is so convenient to Fredericksburg, peach stands, & Wildseed Farms (great gifts for Christmas).

Room Tip: The Baag House is our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaniferK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    19
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
73
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

In April, 2013, we once again drove from the DFW area to Settlers Crossing . . .this time we had grandchildren in tow and my sister and her husband, with their grandchildren also joined us. From the minute the little ones hit the ground at "the farm" as they called it, we saw very little of them . . .they were out exploring from daylight to dusk. We had to corral them to go on little trips off the property, and they could hardly wait to return. We stayed in the Pioneer House this time while my sister stayed in the Baag House with her brood. The children found treasures on their walks and were proud of horse shoes, bird nests, a wasp nest, and all sorts of things. Returning home, the 8 year old wrote a paper for school proclaiming it the best vacation ever! We stayed 5 days and none of the children wanted to leave. Our 5 year old asked his Poppa to buy the houses so we could stay there "forever". David is a gracious host . . .always . . .and this time was no exception. He has added a book discussing the history of the property and a brief synopsis of each of the houses, which we found most interesting, with photos, in each of the houses . . .a nice touch as they answer many questions concerning the property . . .Its interesting to know what infamous people owned it before the current owners. Once again we highly recommend this property. We head down again this October to see hopefully some fall color, but if there is none, we will still sit on the porch of the Baag house (our favorite) and listen to the quiet!!

Room Tip: If you are with family, the Von Heinrich, Pioneer house or Baag house would fit nicely. Keep in min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed to celebrate our mom's 80th birthday...What a unique place to get away and she absolutely loved the house she was in. David was very accommodating to us and we will certainly send our friends to this special getaway. My only suggestion is to have a check-in sign when you drive in so you don't disturb other guests. Otherwise..thankyou for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJC1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here in June with my mother and my daughter. We were blown away with the authenticity of Settlers Crossing. I was impressed with our quaint home and the antiques and what good shape everything was in. Our beds were so comfy and Davis Estes thought of everything. I can't remember the name of our cottage, but it was the biggest one. 3 bedrooms. Lovely big front porch with rocking chairs and porch swings. We also adored how the donkey and goats greeted us upon arrival. We wondered if the donkey was trained to do that??? Too cute. Couldn't have been any better.

Room Tip: You should talk to David Estes about which home would suit your needs best. He was very helpful tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janjac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

On May 19, 2013 my wife and I visited Settlers Crossing for the second time in about 16 months. We had made reservations for three nights. On the evening of our arrival, the jacuzzi either malfunctioned or we simply did not know how to operate it. Either way, an 11 pm. call to David Estes, the owner of Settlers Crossing, was to no avail . . . even though the call was made to his emergency phone number. Water was spraying all over the bathroom floor until we finally figured how to turn it off. Mr. Estes finally returned our call the next morning about 10 am. and bluntly informed me that there was nothing he could have done the previous evening because of the late hour. Therefore, there was no reason for him to have answered the telephone at that time. He did agree to refund our money for the reservation. That was 12 days ago and we have yet to hear from him again. Still no refund as of May 31, 2013. Parenthetically, my wife and I perhaps foolishly drove all night to return home following the incident as we were both quite angry and upset because of the treatment we received at Settlers Crossing.

A couple of observations: 1. It might have been as simple as turning a knob or making an adjustment in the jacuzzi in order to have salvaged a much-anticipated holiday by my wife and I; and, 2. What if we had been unable to turn the water off . . . or the place was burning to the ground? Would Mr. Estes still try to justify his indifference? One can only surmise that his rest receives more priority that taking care of his Settlers Crossing guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jedestes, Owner at Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am sorry that this customer had a bad experience at Settlers Crossing.

First of all, We do not have an "emergency phone number". We have a office line that is forwarded to my cell phone. In the last 5 years we have had one incident (customer locking themselves out of the house) that required the customer to simply come knock on my door and get my assistance. I live on the property and I am or caretakers are always here.

Secondly, there was absolutely nothing wrong with the Jacuzzi. The shower head was left on by the previous guest and simply required turning a knob.

Lastly, we get phone calls throughout the night from potential customers who would like to discuss a reservation and I do not answer those phone calls. We simply take a message and return those calls as any normal business would. At anytime my house is open to customers and any problems they may have. We take our customer's stay very seriouly and not indifferent. David Estes, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Truly loved staying here. Every dwelling is different, so it's possible some might not be as delightful as ours--the Von Heinrich home. It was roomy and comfortable with an amazing array of antique furniture. Having a fully equipped kitchen was especially nice. It was uniquely fun to stay in such an old house in such a bucolic setting. Beautiful live oak and pecan trees everywhere, sheep grazing in the yard, deer passing by in the evening. Really a magical place.

Room Tip: Von Heinrich was fantastic. Some places seem smaller, maybe not as comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chipperxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was out 5th visit and we are trying out each cabin as we go! The charm is awesome and it is very peaceful, which is why we keep going back!!! Love that we can go to Fredericksburg, or drive down to Boerne or up the road to Llano, giving us a great taste of the Hill Country. This was for our anniversary and even though Fredericksburg was busy with Spring Break folks, it was still an amazing trip. We will be back again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeviewloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
5.6 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 80 in Fredericksburg
57 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 80 in Fredericksburg
433 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 80 in Fredericksburg
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 80 in Fredericksburg
105 reviews
3.6 mi away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#14 of 80 in Fredericksburg
137 reviews
8.1 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#4 of 80 in Fredericksburg
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast

Property: Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Address: 104 Settlers Crossing Rd, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7451
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Bed and Breakfast offers guest houses with history. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Settlers Crossing b&b
Settlers Crossing Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing