We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil getaway with tons of history...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geoje, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tranquil getaway with tons of history...”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked a last minute weekend at Settlers Crossing B&B, (not your traditional B&B though) & were not disappointed. When we saw our cabin, the Kusenberger (built 1850) all I could say was "wow". It is a teeny tiny cabin (so if you want space & ultra modern amenities this is not for you) but has everything you need...including the most important, peace & tranquility.
The weekend turned out to be cold & rainy but when we got the fire burning it was bliss & we enjoyed every minute of it & only a short drive to Frederickburg for all the amenities. I originally wanted to stay in F'burg but I am so glad that we didn't.
Perhaps a couple of things could be improved on. It is advertised with 'continental breakfast delivered to your door". In fact 3 muffins were already in the cabin when we arrived...in a zip-lock bag..I didn't find this very appealing & not the best breakfast for such a highly rated b&b. I know that privacy to guests is one of the attractions but surely there are better ways to provide breakfast. This cabin is also advertised as having a jacuzzi tub with hand held shower. This was not the case, it is a fixed shower over a bathtub. Perhaps the info needs to be updated. We also found the bed to be a little small (more a double than a queen) & quite soft. However these things didn't distract too much from our stay as we still had a great time.
My advice is to sit back with a glass of wine, soak up the history & enjoy the setting. We wanted to stay longer. Oh & say 'hello' to Bob the dog.....& the donkey & the pony & the sheep & the deer...

Room Tip: The Kusenberger Cabin is for 2 only, very compact but has everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DottyCazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    19
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
73
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I have been out here 4 times, and we love it more and more each time. Our goal is to stay in each cabin! We have referred many of our friends here and cannot say enough good things about this place. It is so unique and with so much history and feels great to sit back and relax. My children and I loved the donkeys, the kitchen in the Von Heinrich and the jacuzzi tub. We hope to be back for another trip soon. Thank you Mr. Estes for having such a great place to visit!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revka17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed in two bed room restored cabin built in the 1800's. My wife loved it. Sheep and Donkeys came around for breakfast. Never saw the owners, but Bob the dog was around. Great place to go for some tranquility.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had heard of this place from my husbands work friend and we talked about going for years but with the kids it was hard to getaway. Now they are in college and my husband was turning fifty and it was our anniversary so I thought it would be the best surprise. We loved it!! We stayed in the barn and it was clean and comfy. We liked coming in to our own getaway each day. We actually liked the pastries that were delivered and shared them every morning, it was the perfect amount. Every evening we walked the trail saw dear, sheep, donkeys and sat on the sunset swing and just talked and enjoyed the peace and quiet. We loved it, just wish it was a little closer. For being original buildings, no bugs, very clean, peaceful and romantic can't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texcsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was our first visit to Settlers Crossing, but will not be our last. I plan on booking for our anniversary today. It was quaint, rustic and utterly charming. The surrounding property was great for strolling and exploring. We loved the donkeys, sheep and friendly dogs. It was close to Fredericksburg but far enough away to get the peaceful feeling of country living. David, our host, was very friendly and agreeable. We would recommend to friends and family!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I spent a long weekend at Settlers Crossing B&B. It is conveniently located near Fredericksburg and close to many of the wonderful Texas Hill Country wineries. It is not a traditional B&B. They have renovated historic homes and barns to make a wonderful retreat. It is located on a large tract of land with lots of privacy. The old homes are very charming and will done. There were burrows, sheep and deer roaming the property. The sky view at night is amazing. If you are looking for a great place to get away but still be close to some fun activities this is the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We returned once again to this little piece of heaven on earth. We try to return at least twice a year and this time introduced my sister and her husband to Settlers Crossing. While the leaves had not begun to turn, we enjoyed the most beautiful starry skies sitting outside the Baag Farm House. And of course, we booked for next spring . . .with my sister, we are planning a return with all of our grandchildren and have booked both the Pioneer House and The Baag . . .Our home was immaculate, comfy beds and wonderful fresh pastries every morning . . .truly a home away from home. We enjoy the donkeys and sheep roaming the 35 acres and also enjoyed the pretty fall pumpkins that decorated the property. David and Melissa go out of their way to make guests feel special without being intrusive
. . .This truly is the best of the best . . . can hardly wait until April!!

Cheryl and Jerry DeJulius

Room Tip: It depends on what you are looking for. We usually ask for the BAAG Farmhouse as it brings back goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
5.6 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 80 in Fredericksburg
57 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 80 in Fredericksburg
433 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 80 in Fredericksburg
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 80 in Fredericksburg
105 reviews
3.6 mi away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#14 of 80 in Fredericksburg
137 reviews
8.1 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#4 of 80 in Fredericksburg
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast

Property: Settlers Crossing Bed and Breakfast
Address: 104 Settlers Crossing Rd, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7451
Location: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Bed and Breakfast offers guest houses with history. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Settlers Crossing b&b
Settlers Crossing Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing