We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buffalo Nickel Great Food Slow Service”

Buffalo Nickel Bar & Grill
Ranked #32 of 135 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Buffalo Nickel Great Food Slow Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have eaten at the Buffalo Nickel twice in the last few month. The food was excellent both times. The atmosphere is rustic with animal heads hanging on the walls. However, both times, the service was extremely slow. Several tables were served before us even though we came in first. It seems popular with local residence. As a result, it appears regular are served before those of us who are from out of town. However if one is not in a hurry, the food is worth the wait.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onemansopinion17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    86
    40
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Decor was fitting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

The decor here matched the name.Lots of western stuff with a buffalo head. Food was very good .I had lime and tequila grilled shrimp. It was great with a garlic butter. My husband had a hamburger that he said was one of the best. Service was just ok. I would return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BAinCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful bar and service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

First time coming to buffalo nickel and will not be the last!!! Right when we came in the hostess was very sweet! Went upstairs and orders a few drinks at the bar. Stephanie made our drinks and not only was she great at mixing she was great in general! Matt was also super nice and made a great drink! Very helpful! Beyond wonderful service! Have not enjoyed dinner yet but, can not wait to do so! Obviously will be returning!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant and bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

The city was very busy for nine people to eat but the Buffalo Nickel Bar & Grill was able to get us in and served us well. The staff was terrific with a wide choices of dishes from our group. And we felt like we stepped back into the west. Go in and just have a drink to check the place out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sprocket77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Didn't Get to Eat”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Tried to eat at this restaurant, but never got served. Large group of bikers came in after us and got served before us. We were told after 20 minutes, "2 minutes to go." Fifteen minutes later, "Thanks for your patience, I have my eye on your order." Ten minutes later we left. We left four singles for our tea while watching several others who showed up after us served. Sigh. It may be a great restaurant, but we'll never know, because we'll never go back. Don't like to be treated like that more than once.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJonesDenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Nickel Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Nickel Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing