We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picnic Fare”
Review of Opa's Smoked Meat

Opa's Smoked Meat
Ranked #25 of 138 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Description: We offer a wide variety of smoked meats, smoked sausages, deli sandwiches and salads TOGO
Restaurant details
Description: We offer a wide variety of smoked meats, smoked sausages, deli sandwiches and salads TOGO
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Picnic Fare”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stopping in at Opa's to pick up sandwiches, drinks and a sweet is an economical way to have a lunch on a beautiful day and save the price of another restaurant meal when in town for a long weekend. The meat, whatever you choose, is great and the sandwiches are over stuffed. A link of summer sausage to go along with lunch or save for later is a good idea, too. Or, if you are staying in a B&B with a grill or a kitchen, get something for later. But, please note that they close at 4PM on Saturdays. I was glad I checked their web page or we may have gone too late. We have been to Fredericksburg many times and had heard about Opa's. This was the first time we stopped in. We will make it part of what we do in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RancherGirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    20
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
584 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 899 helpful votes
“Nothing Organic Here But The Place Smelled Good.”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is actually a deli and not a restaurant per se. You can get take away sandwiches, mustards, all kinds of processed, smoked meat and sausage and mixes for dip of all kinds. The sausage lovers inside seemed to be in heaven, buying tons of their products. I did check labels and all of the meat does contain nitrates and other chemical with very long names. We walked out because of their lack of any organic meats which we were hoping to purchase.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryEllenM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritztown
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An Old Town Favorite”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Opa's has been a staple in town as long as I can remember. It is a great place for lunch sandwich deals for the children and wonderful smoked meats and cheeses for parties. They also special order meats ready for you to throw on your own grill.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake charles louisiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always wanted to go!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great meat market . Their jalopeno cheese summer sausage was delicious. Also had some neat jams and jellies and cookbooks and german cookies .

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank graciegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Tx
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good sausage and brats. This is a small store.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Store is really to sell sausages/meats they make at the back (factory). Sandwiches are available but no tables/chairs to eat in. Very small store.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank simpletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opa's Smoked Meat also viewed

 

Been to Opa's Smoked Meat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing