We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1940's nostalgia with an aeronautic twist”
Review of Airport Diner

Airport Diner
Ranked #29 of 139 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The Airport Diner is a classic 1940s diner, located next door to the Hangar Hotel and immediately adjacent to the Gillespie County Airport aircraft parking ramp. From the booths, you can watch aircraft come and go while enjoying great sandwiches, breakfast, and daily Blue Plate Specials. The Diner is not just a place to grab some food, but rather a unique atmosphere to relax and enjoy a good meal while reliving the past. And you never know what you might see land just outside the window.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“1940's nostalgia with an aeronautic twist”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Located at the Gillespie County airport (just 2 miles south of town) and right next to the Hanger Hotel is the Airport Diner. Fashioned after a classic 1940's diner with stainless steel walls, soda fountain stools, and booths with views overlooking the airport runway, this place is a great place to enjoy burgers, sandwiches and shakes. The decor is fun for pilots and non-pilots alike. We just popped in for some rootbeer floats and to soak up the aeronautic vibe and had a marvelous time. Service was fast and friendly. Hours are somewhat short during the week so you may want to call ahead to make sure they are open when you want to go.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripperGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    74
    34
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerrville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great breakfast!”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The airport diner is right next to the Hanger Hotel. Both have a great 1940's avation theme. The diner is built like an actual 1940's diner. The windows face out on the runway so you can watch planes takeoff and land. We walked over from the Hanger Hotel and had breakfast. Service was excellent and the food was good. Great experience. I heard that their shakes and burgers were the thing to have, but we left after breakfast, so maybe next time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobBKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, TX
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Burger, Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Airport Diner is out of the way from the Main Street shopping area, but it is worth the drive. The atmosphere is wonderful, with music from the 40s/50s, and it is really beautiful. Think lots of shiny stainless steel, black granite countertops, maroon/brown booths, etc. And the food is really good too. We had the Bomber Burger which was huge (by my standards at least) and the BLT-Bravo Lima Tango. They came with homemade chips and those were very good as well. We were there for a weekday lunch, and the place was fairly quiet when we arrived just after 11:30. But by the time we were leaving, they had a full house.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tess1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic National Park, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great choice for breakfast or lunch”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Unique place, feels like a movie set. Hotel looks great as well!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rainforestrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Simply amazing!”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Service, food, atmosphere all top notch! Fast and friendly service. Only had breakfast there but it was great! Very clean. Fun family atmosphere with a very nostalgic feel. Truly enjoyed my breakfast diner experience. Will definitely return when I'm back in Fredricksburg.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielHernandez74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airport Diner also viewed

 

Been to Airport Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing