We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good prices, OK food”

Old German Bakery and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
804 reviews
469 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,025 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good prices, OK food”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were in the area and this looked like a clean place to have lunch.

We had two adults and two children in our party.

Our server was very friendly and helpful in recommending things to eat.

While waiting for our food we went to the bakery counter to get some baked goods to take with us.

The portions were good but the taste was only OK.

We would go back but I suspect there are better places for food in town.

I had the weinersnitzel (sp?) which I would not get again here, while others in the party had the German pancake which was nice and we also had German meatloaf which was flavorful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank arizonaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    334
    90
    48
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not great but still good...”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews and decided to try this place out for lunch. I had the Wiener Schnitzel with German potatoes and red cabbage and it was pretty good. It was slightly on the bland side but not bad after adding lemon and salt. My husband had the House Schnitzel and he thought it was just okay--same thing in that it needed more seasoning. Staff was friendly and food came out pretty quick. Big portion of the Schnitzel for the money. Overall we were not disappointed and we will definitely come back--but perhaps to try the pancakes that so many people raved about.

Helpful?
Thank mrc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“So-So”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Omelettes were rubbery - standard diner fare. Service was friendly and coffee was hot! I eat gluten free and they were happy to sub hash browns for the biscuits that were supposed to come with my meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast, German Style”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Was typical, average fair, but great place for families. Was a bit loud and food was nothing spectacular, but if you have several with you, the price is great.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cyncyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Outstanding breakfast.”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is the place for a great breakfast--almost truck-stop "size" servings. When we were there so where plenty of "locals"; a good sign no matter where your at.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank keystoneTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old German Bakery and Restaurant also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Old German Bakery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing