We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer at reasonable prices”

Fredericksburg Brewing Co.
Ranked #15 of 138 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Fredericksburg Brewing Company is the oldest brewpub in Texas and has been proclaimed by numerous publications as the "Best in Texas" with their brews winning awards in both U.S. and international competitions.   This internationally known establishment not only serves some of the finest German brews and food, but is housed in a historical, refurbished 1890s rock building complete with fireplace, old wooden ceilings, antique lighting, copper, brass and stainless brewing equipment, and enclosed biergarten. In addition to craft beer, The Brewery offers tasty selections for lunch and dinner including German selections, burgers, pizza, salads, sandwiches and more!
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beer at reasonable prices”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Place to go the relax after a long day on the road. Beer was great.
Had some dark beer and really enjoyed it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 92ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    392
    200
    78
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWFUL”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were here to have lunch and the food was terrible. It was literally the worst burger I have ever endured, and it's got to be hard to mess up a burger. My husband's food was overcooked. We will not go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kemper Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beer Only, if that.”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

After reading the menu to this place, my wife and I wanted to go to have some German food and fried appetizers. For some reason everything was soggy. The French fries were limp and the onion rings were chewy with no crisp. The bottle caps were really good but the German potato salad and jagerschnitzel were very bland.

In a nut shell, the wait staff was eating Mexican food that was delivered and ate it right in front of the patrons. That food looked 10 times better and made me wish I was eating it. The beer was ok. Nothing to write home about. I would not go back, but if you want a beer you can walk outside with then go here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TXTraveler728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were in Fredricksburg on a Sunday evening and there is not much open for dinner. Fortunately we walked by the Brewing Co and decided to give it a try. The place was busy but we were seated promptly and the server took our order right away. We ordered the nachos and the fish tacos. When the nachos came out and we saw the size, we wondered aloud if we should have also ordered the tacos. Our server said she hadn't yet put in the order for the tacos and said she would be happy to wait to see if we still wanted them later. We didn't. The nachos were great and obviously very hearty, although the jalapenos were not put on the side as we requested. We ordered the lightest of the beers and did enjoy it. The only real negative is that the busboy dropped a whole tray of dishes from the table next to us and then proceeded to clean it with something that had an overpowering Pinesol smell...................not appetizing. Still, it was a fun place to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Desertbluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Ok beer, ok food, ok service, ok atmosphere- everything was just ok. Nothing great but nothing bad. I had a cheeseburger and my husband had a Reuben sandwich. We each tried 2 different beers. I am hoping that we find a better restaurant and better beer today!

Helpful?
Thank MBram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fredericksburg Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Fredericksburg Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing