We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, good price”

Fredericksburg Brewing Co.
Ranked #13 of 137 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, German, Brew Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fredericksburg Brewing Company is the oldest brewpub in Texas and has been proclaimed by numerous publications as the "Best in Texas" with their brews winning awards in both U.S. and international competitions.   This internationally known establishment not only serves some of the finest German brews and food, but is housed in a historical, refurbished 1890s rock building complete with fireplace, old wooden ceilings, antique lighting, copper, brass and stainless brewing equipment, and enclosed biergarten. In addition to craft beer, The Brewery offers tasty selections for lunch and dinner including German selections, burgers, pizza, salads, sandwiches and more!
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good meal, good price”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The schnitzel here was amazing the night we had it. We came in at about 9pm on a Friday night and we were seated right away and the service was excellent. We were a big table (8 of us) and the server still took great care of us even though his shift was ending and he was worn out. Make sure you try the onion rings....perfect!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    388
    196
    78
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheddar Ale Soup”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our second trip to this establishment. We returned because of fond memories of the cheddar ale soup. Yes, it was still very good and so rich! A simple but varied menu that hits all the basics and friendly service. An interesting place for the beer afficianado to sample the current offerings.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We were shopping on Main St and decided to check out the local Brewing Co. We had steak fajita salad, grilled chicken wrap, beers and Scotch eggs. Everything was good and we enjoyed the atmosphere. Would eat here again on our next visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aggie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good burgers & beer”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went for dinner on a busy Saturday night. We were told that our wait for a table would be 45 minutes--ended up being half that time. We waited in the beer garden & tried two of their brews. The beers were reasonably priced & I really liked the porter. My husband both ordered burgers, which were both juicy & flavorable. I got the German potato salad---very average. Fries were good though & portions were large. The only drawback with this restaurant is the service. I would like to try it on a weekday to see if it was better because our waiter was slammed on the weekend. They would be better served if they had more waiters, I think. It was very busy & I felt our waiter was doing his best but just couldn't keep up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ksp51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Rubin”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Been here many times always going to try something new but the Rubin is so good we end up back with it. Price is average for Fredericksburg. Hate they quit serving the german hash browns with it. Beer is pretty average nice atmosphere ok service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clintlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fredericksburg Brewing Co. also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Fredericksburg Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing