We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Burgers and Amazing Peach Cobbler”

Fredericksburg Brewing Co.
Ranked #15 of 135 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, German, Brew Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fredericksburg Brewing Company is the oldest brewpub in Texas and has been proclaimed by numerous publications as the "Best in Texas" with their brews winning awards in both U.S. and international competitions.   This internationally known establishment not only serves some of the finest German brews and food, but is housed in a historical, refurbished 1890s rock building complete with fireplace, old wooden ceilings, antique lighting, copper, brass and stainless brewing equipment, and enclosed biergarten. In addition to craft beer, The Brewery offers tasty selections for lunch and dinner including German selections, burgers, pizza, salads, sandwiches and more!
Dickinson, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome Burgers and Amazing Peach Cobbler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Fredericksburg Brewing Co. was the first place we went when we got to Fredericksburg since we had heard about the burgers. And the burgers lived up to the hype! We also had the peach cobbler, and boy was it awesome. While our food was great, the service left a lot to be desired. Our waitress appeared to have most of the tables (despite the fact that there were many open tables) and she appeared to be physically hurting. She gave it her best, but we were disappointed in the service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    382
    195
    78
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great beer, great burgers but we had to wait forever to get a table. The service wasn't great, they were busy but I saw our waiter texting instead of checking on his tables. The bathrooms were disgusting. Good food but not worth the long wait, try catching them when they aren't that busy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CphtCRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fun for beer, location is good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Location location location. Right in the heart of the Main Street crowds. They brew several kinds of beer- and for something different, it's pretty good. We are locals, and the only time we really get there is when town isn't so crowded. The past few times we've eaten there, the food was ok. It's a place to get a burger or fresh pizza, but veering off on the menu to other food items is not a good idea. French fries are pretty good. We were there on a Sunday evening and though crowded, the service was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Beer & Great Reuben”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Fun place with very good, cold beer and good service. We were here on a slow week so we didn't have to wait at all and of course the staff wasn't exhausted. I had the Reuben sandwich and it was delicious but the German potato salad was terrible - should have had the fries. My husband had the Brewmaster's Burger with fries. The burger was good but not as good as my Reuben - fries were very good. There are better restaurants in town but this is a great place to sit down, rest and enjoy a good beer.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DEBBIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
181 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Past its prime?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We enjoyed a good meal here, but had to wait a good 25 minutes even though it was very late for lunch and very early for dinner (4pm). The ladies' room had no paper products and wasn't particularly clean. The beer garden in the back is a good way to spend the wait time and have a beer while seated. Our waitress never checked in with us after serving our food, never served the requested ice water and took a ridiculous amount of time to bring our check. The beer is good, the food is good - but there are better places in town!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fredericksburg Brewing Co. also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Fredericksburg Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing