We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gr8 place to view our past involvement in WWII”

National Museum of the Pacific War
Book In Advance
More Info
$96.33*
and up
Hill Country Magic Tour
More Info
$59.99*
and up
San Antonio Haunted Legends Segway Tour
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Library of Secrets Escape Room
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Formerly the Nimitz Museum, the complex is now America's only museum centered on World War II's Pacific campaign. Since 1968, the Museum has expanded to occupy a six-acre campus and gained a reputation as one of the premier military museums in the nation. Over the years the Museum was upgraded and enlarged, and the campus grew to accommodate the Memorial Courtyard, the Plaza of Presidents and the Japanese Garden of Peace. We opened the expanded George H. W. Bush Gallery in 2009. The Gallery's state-of-the-art 33,000 square foot exhibition features 40 media installations, approximately 900 artifacts in 97 climate-controlled cases, 15 macro-artifacts, and hundreds of photographs. Two blocks east of the main campus is the Pacific Combat Zone. Recently reopened after an $8 million renovation. The PCZ is also home to our popular WWII Pacific Combat Program that takes place on set weekends throughout the year.
Mesquite, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gr8 place to view our past involvement in WWII”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is so very impressive, well organized with the right amount of items displayed. Make sure you go the one block to see the Avenger and PT boat and the other outside displays...it's well worth the hour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank peterthebellhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,017
    231
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating for kids and adults!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went with a group of European friends and our kids. We all learned so much and enjoyed the very interactive nature of it. Having actual veterns we could speak with was interesting and very moving. Everyone enjoyed it from the youngest to the oldest.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Texantravelers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crockett, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Tour”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I liked all of the exhibits very much. There was more than you can do in one day.
I learned things I never knew about WWII.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More than we could take in - in two days!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

2nd visit for me...I love history and am a veteran. It was a natural choice of how to spend a couple of days this summer. The surprise - my three girls (10 to 15) loved it! The videos, the submarine, their eyes being opened to the horrors of, but also the necessity, of war and the defense of our country. They also were enlightened by Adm. Nimitz history and his work at peace after the war. (I only wished the Japanese Peace Garden was operational when we were there.)

As a veteran and a patriot, I would encourage us all to remember the past, be prepared, and not be destined to repeat it. Please visit this jewel of our nation's history and take it all in, allow yourself a whole day or parts of two days.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyBGood812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The museum and accompanying "battlefield" grounds are incredible quality for a small town. It was better and more interactive than big city exhibits. This is a must-see for World War II buffs visiting the San Antonio-Austin area. I have been twice and still haven't seen everything. Enjoyed the walk through history exhibits that showed the opening of Japan from Admiral Perry to the causes of Pearl Harbor. The bomber, mini-sub and PT boats were delightful surprises. A great way to spend the day while others shoppers in your party browse Fredericksburg.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank dbalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of the Pacific War also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of the Pacific War? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing