We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Park Central Hotel

Park Central Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Central Hotel
Ranked #98 of 110 Hotels in Fort Worth
GA
1 review
“Never again”
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Never agian would I ever stay here!!! Dont know where to start... How about the band that plays below your room till late or how about the beds that the springs feel like they will go through. Dirty showers that you could not control the temp. Lights that did not work well, just like the ac. I kept the ac on 40 degrees the whole time and never got cold. I bet the ac never cooled below 78f. Dead bugs behind the chair on the floor. Lastly the door you would have to slam shut to get it to lock.
To sum it up DONT STAY HERE. Looks ok on the web but its not even close.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BMEFISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    15
    15
    40
See reviews for
14
15
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2007

We were attending a convention and thought that we lucked out on getting so close to the convention center. Little did we know that that would be the only good thing about our stay. This hotel is really old and nasty. When we pulled in the parking lot it was down hill the rest of the way. We had to wait till some one left the club to park in the 20 spots that they had. Inside the whole place had a musky smell from the lobby to the room. It was unbearable I had to purchase a fan to circulate the air and use lots of air freshener. The bathroom had a few bugs and the floor and the walls were sweating. The shower curtain had mildew and the water was scalding hot (Burn your skin off hot) that you could not turn the nob with your hand . The towels had holes and mold was on the ceiling. The carpet was wore out that you could see the floor. The only way that I could get to sleep was to take a Advil PM because from the Band playing, the trash trucks and the elevator rumble I could not fall to sleep and the worn out mattress did not help. There was no channel guide for the TV or a map of near by restaurants. If you wanted ice forget it. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone nor ever stay here under these conditions again.

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank orangeDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2007

Stay away from this hotel. In times past this was probably a very nice establishment, however, it needs some major renovation. There is very little parking space and the "parking garage" is merely a hole with a few parking spaces and the rest used as storage. Only one vehicle at at time can enter or exit. On the morning I checked out I found a puddle of blood in garage from a fight earlier in the morning. The lobby smells musty and the rooms are no better. The elevators are a gamble, you never know on which floor it will stop. The vending machines were either empty or did not function and the ice machine on my floor did not work. I discovered the bedside lamp did not work and the alarm clock was on a table across the room. My bed was made up while I was out, but the sheets were not changed. The carpets are dirty and stained. The first night the A/C stopped and the heat came on. I awoke at 4am with the temperature at 85 degrees. The outside noise is almost unbearable from the traffic and trucks picking up dumpsters at 4am. It would be nice to have coffee pots in the rooms also. The only positive thing I can say is that the hotel is near downtown and the water is hot. I Will Never Stay At The Park Central Again!!!!!

  • Liked — close to downtown
  • Disliked — poorly kept rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

I live in Fort Worth and I've seen this hotel frequently during my life. It always looked pretty seedy. About 2 months ago, I noticed that it had a facelift and a beautiful panther fountain out front. When my best friend told me she was coming to town, I had no qualms about putting her up at the Park Central. They have excellent rates for a downtown hotel, and its walking distance to much of the good stuff in Fort Worth. Her room had sumptuous linens and cozy mattresses, if a bit tight with all the furniture. The friendly staff made her stay quite a pleasure. I will not hesitate to make the Park Central my guest room again in the future.

I've read many negative and so-so reviews of the Park Central, but since its remodel, it has overcome many of the issues cited and I certainly recommend it to the budget concious traveler.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank katskil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2006

My wife and I decided to book this hotel for our office Christmas party. When we checked in, the clerk at the front desk had trouble locating our booking so bring your confirmation #. We had ordered a King Non-Smoking and were given a room with 2 double beds. I had to wait in line at the front desk behind 3 customers who were irate because the AC was out. Upon checking in, they gave me keys to room 217. We lugged all our bagage up the stairs and tried the keys which did not work. When I went to the Front desk they made me wait while contacting maintenance crews about the AC.

After a few minutes waiting the clerk told me

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff & cleanliness
  • Tips/Secrets — try and book elsewhere
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mckinneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2006

What was I thinking? I can not believe I somehow overlooked checking Tripadvisor before I booked this place. Lesson learned big time!

What would have once been a truly funky, 60's era motel is WELL overdue for a SERIOUS refurb! At $99 + tax + $7 car parking per nite, I was expecting a basic, but still reasonable standard. Not to be. Sagging beds, stained carpets & so, so poorly maintained in every respect. It was enough to make a once proud hospitality industry worker weep. And then there was the noise... I can only guess downtown hotel Fort Worth accommodation demand is outstripping supply, cos The Park Central, in its current incarnation, is not worth the bucks.

Literally pay the extra dollar or two, & have yourself an enjoyable stay at one of the other downtown hotels. It is an otherwise really lovely, rusurgent city center.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank crimy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

Stayed at this so called hotel for a conference held at the convention center. The only good thing I can say was it was right across the street from it. Floors are so dirty you can't walk on the with out shoes, window so dirt you can barely see out. Parking gargage is a joke. Not even big enough for the amount of rooms that they have. One of elevators will not open on the second floor. We use the steps. Also our key card would not work daily. One day I had to have my card recharged "5" times. They even changed the battery pack on door and it still did not help.
I realize this is a old hotel but with only a little tlc this could be a really nice hotel. Carpert and paint, drapes, beding. The week we were there they were full at $100.00 a night times 6 night by 75 rooms. (They list 101 I think but not that many are rented some hold junk)

  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank motorycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Downtown Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
#11 of 110 in Fort Worth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Downtown Fort Worth
Sheraton Fort Worth Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Worth Downtown
Downtown Fort Worth
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Worth Downtown
Downtown Fort Worth
The Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel

Property: Park Central Hotel
Address: 1010 Houston St, Fort Worth, TX 76102-6415
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth > Downtown Fort Worth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 110 Hotels in Fort Worth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Central Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Park Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Fort Worth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing