We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place just to crash after a party night”
Review of Park Central Hotel

Park Central Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Park Central Hotel
Ranked #99 of 113 Hotels in Fort Worth
Reviewed February 3, 2010

we travel from central tx on amtrak to party in the fort worth dallas area, its close to the rail station short walk,last trip it was clean and staff helpful,party all night so we join in at the bar and band on our why back from town, then way to drunk to even care what the room looks like and the smell changes during the night that depends what we eat!!! its a no thrills place we know it and its just right for our need and the price, works out great for a group

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasPlonker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Park Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 78 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2009

Stained, see-through sheets. The room had no TP and the lotion was clearly already used. The woman at the desk didn't send some up to the room, but chirped that she'd have some ready for us at the desk! Noise from the street and hotel restaurant required leaving on the AC for the white noise. But the AC kicked out heat, not cool. (The heat did nothing.) The shower knob thingy was broken, so only half the flow made it to the shower, the rest gushed out the tub faucet. Never have a child or frail senior in this hotel - the shower could easily scald, because water temp fluxuated wildly. Convention planners - do NOT use this place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sciencemuseumgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Stayed there recently and all the previous reviews are outdated. The room was basic and clean but remember this is a one star hotel. The bed was comfortable and the linen was clean. We had an ample supply of towels and complimentary toiletries. The staff were extremely helpful and had lots of information on where to visit and where to eat.

There was no noise from the attached bar/restaurant or from any of the guest rooms.

We were made to feel very welcome and judging by past reviews this hotel has took all the comment on board and turned the negatives into positives. If you want a reasonable priced, well located hotel then this is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pondy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Park Central Hotel is located just across the street from the Fort Worth Convention Center where I attended a conference so the location for attending the conference seemed to be a good idea. The hotel is basically a Motel 6 and the doors to the rooms are located on the outside. I was on the 5th floor and stayed during a cold snap with high winds and in the 40's. The rooms on the 5th floor were hot, 85plus degrees and the system was such that no one could turn down the heat so everyone on the 5th floor slept with the doors opened in order to survive. It was that hot! Terrible. The rooms were adequate but the pillows were at most 1 inch thick and sleeping was tortured. The morning breakfast was zero except for a mean grumpy woman at the front desk and some coffee. The staff overall were uncaring and seemed trapped in a job they hated so we took the brunt of their problems. Mambo's, the restaurant is closed. The conference hotels were Embassy, Hilton, Radisson, Hyatt and all had superb accomodations for $85-$140 per night with full breakfast and professional staff but were 2-3 blocks away from the convention center. The Park Central charged, get this, $100 per night and provided Motel 6 staff and accomodations. And the better hotels were right next to the restaurants. So being across from the convention center was not really a benefit when we factor in the terrible staff and awful accomodations and high price for a Motel 6 room at the Park Central. Would not stay there again under any circumstances. Stay away!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LBLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

The last positive review was in 2005 and for good reason. This property is way overpriced for what it offered. I could echo every negative review I've read. Parking, water, AC/Heat, elevators! Some rooms, according to other guests, were either way too hot, or just below freezing. Water temp went from scalding to freezing in .008 seconds. One elevator refused to stop on the fourth floor, it just passed it and went to the fifth. Fortunately you could push the forth floor button on the way down and it would stop on 4. Cleanliness was not an issue - it just wasn't clean! It is old, in poor repair, and a bit spooky. Someone jokingly said, "The only thing missing was Norman Bates."

The only positive note was the desk personnel. They tried, but often had to apologize for things they could not fix.

Check your bill before you leave the desk. We ended up with two differen parking charges for each day there. Fortunately they did correct that. We'll know for sure once the credit card bill arrives!

Pay a few extra bucks and find a better place to stay. There are some other fine hotels close to downtown that you will make you much happier.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PappyDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Trip Advisor has this hotel rated as 65th out of 85 ranked hotels. I cannot imagine that there are twenty other hotels that are worse than this one. The A/C didn't cool off the room until well after dark and then, because of the humidity, it was actually clammy. It's either all the way on or all the way off with the A/C unit. The TV remote didn't work, the bedside lamps didn't work. The shower and sink drained very slowly. The carpet in the room hadn't been cleaned in years and had the residue of what can only be described as several frat parties left behind. My bottoms of my barefeet were quickly turning black and sticky. The price is right but because it is comparatively cheap, it attracts the loud and the drunk. All of the rooms face to the outside of the hotel. Was there anything good? The exterior is quaint and the staff seemed anxious to help but when you work in a hotel that is akin to a sinking ship, how much help can you expect? Another good thing is that it is close to Sundance Square (about five blocks). So if you're looking to have a good time and don't care about anything but a bed, or if you're going to be so intoxicated that the only thing you want is to avoid sleeping on the street, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank baylorbarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

We just stayed at the Park Central Hotel in Ft. Worth, Texas for three days. The hotel is located right across the Ft. Worth Convention Center. The rooms are old, and they smell. Our sheets had stains, towels had holes and the elevator did not work. The water from the shower was brown, and the water temperature would change from hot to cold. The phone in my room did not work and the housekeeper did not provide us with towels. The front desk clerk was friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mjquint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Worth hotels
Downtown Fort Worth
Sheraton Fort Worth Downtown Hotel
Downtown Fort Worth
Embassy Suites by Hilton Fort Worth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
Hilton Fort Worth
#10 of 113 in Fort Worth
1,340 reviews
Downtown Fort Worth
The Worthington Renaissance Fort Worth Hotel
Downtown Fort Worth
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Worth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Central Hotel

Address: 1010 Houston St, Fort Worth, TX 76102-6415
Location: United States > Texas > Fort Worth > Downtown Fort Worth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 113 Hotels in Fort Worth
Price Range: $176 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Park Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Central Fort Worth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing